We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, beautiful!”
Review of Limon

Limon
Ranked #8 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine dining at Limón in an itimate atmosphere in our beautiful courtyard or elegant interior dining room. Reservations required.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, beautiful!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are looking for creative, delicious food in a beautiful setting outside of the commercial downtown zone, this is for you! Sergio will cater to any dietary meal, creating a gourmet feast for my husband, who eats low fat-vegan! Highly reconvened the unique and delicious hibiscus tacos and hibiscus margarita! Make a reservation and ask to sit in the garden. Best meal in Mexico, and we've had many! Prices amazingly low for this quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    70
    31
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godfrey, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good, we went back again!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Tried Limon because heard others talking about it at our hotel. Husband and I travel a lot and found Limon to be a gem. Sat in the garden and it was peaceful and lovely, even with some rain. My husband tried the mussels for an appetizer and I had the avocado salad. My husband said the mussels were DELICIOUS, and the best he has ever had. Amazing, because he is very critical! Our entrees of filet and shrimp were also nice. Our evening was made more pleasant as we visited with Sergio, who owns Limon. The restaurant is also his home (lives up stairs).

We came back two nights later and called ahead to have Sergio save us a lobster, as we also heard that was great. The Lobster Sergio is awesome, but very rich. It was something we would like to attempt to cook, as we would like to have it again! My husband again ate the mussels for an appetizer, which he still described as wonderful and delicious.

Limon has a lovely, quaint garden area, which I think adds to the dinner experience. The restaurant is in a neighborhood and is worth the visit. Sergio and his staff will make your evening memorable and we look forward to going back. We never tried the desserts, as we were too full with appetizers and entrees. Do call and make a reservation, especially if you want to try the lobster, as this is not a large restaurant and he keeps a tight inventory so items are very fresh. Sergio.......Muchas Gracias por la experiencias! Hasta pronto.
Rick and Kris (From St. Louis)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ricknkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Where to begin....”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

4 of us went for dinner this evening we were seated in the garden which was a beautiful romantic setting. We started with Mojito's and margaritas both we very good. We shared the caprese salad as our appitizers, it was very fresh tasting and the dressing was light but bursting with flavor. Three of us had the filet with port reduction it was grilled right beside us and couldn't possibly have turned out any better it was served with au gratin potatos and vegetable spring rolls, both were extremely delicious. The fourth diner had lobster Sergio style, which certainly did not disappoint. I am definately going to order it the next time we go back. Sergio is an extremely entertaining gracious host and made our last dinner on the island a very memorable expeirence.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proud_Cdn_Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY happy foodies!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the kind of place you just want everyone with good taste to know about. It's small, intimate and run by a man that makes it his mission to make everyone happy. To start with, and this is something we truly appreciated, he warned us whilst ordering that we were ordering too much. He wanted us to have a good appetite for the main course so we'd really enjoy it. Thankfully, we followed his advice, as the mains are generously sized.
Secondly, and this is what really counts, the food is divine. What makes it so good is that Sergio buys only very fresh produce. The tuna we ordered literally came off the boat and was done just right- quickly seared on the grill, lightly seasoned and served with al dente vegetables. The rib-eye was also fantastic- tender, perfectly grilled and seasoned. The real show-stopper was the lobster. Oh, and the tuna roll appetizers are another favorite.
As for sevice... impeccable. Ok, enough with the superlatives.. just go. You'll love it. We ate here twice in 4 days.
The only thing that could be improved is the wine selection. It's fine, but doesn't do justice to the top-notch cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LvKJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“trip report from 4th vacation @ Norte beach”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

IslaOnMyMind


Muskego, Wisconsin

posts: 7

reviews: 1



Save this Post

Nov 18, 2013, 6:55 PM





We are back home in Wisconsin after a short one week stay in Isla. We booked Nautibeach again (our home away from home) from Oct 26 until Nov 2. Two days of heavy rain to greet us, but the last 5 days were sunny and hot in the upper 80's. I love this Norte beach condo.

Dined at Limons in the Colonial district for the first time. 40 peso cab ride from Playa Norte and well worth it. The owner, Sergio, is a young, handsome, elegant man form Mexico City. The restaurant itself is the lower level of his home and he greeted us at the door. We dined on his patio where he grilled the tuna I ordered. My wife, Ginny, had the house specialty "Lobster Sergio”. Both incredible dishes. After dinner, Sergio sat with us and we discussed our culinary thoughts and he explained and finally surrendered his recipe for the Hibiscus sauce he drizzled on my grilled tuna dish. Don't miss this opportunity if you get it. The menu varies in price featuring tacos to lobster. Best dinner I had on the Island.




.









.














Good traveling all

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslaOnMyMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing