We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Limon

Limon
Ranked #8 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy fine dining at Limón in an itimate atmosphere in our beautiful courtyard or elegant interior dining room. Reservations required.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I were told by many people that this restaurant had very good food and the owner was very nice so we decided to give it a try and were so happy we did! We went for our Anniversary (Oct 31st) and were very surprised by the inside decor and beautiful backyard garden. We sat in the garden and had the most delicious appetizers, Tuna Ceviche and Avocado Salad with a pepper sauce. I had tuna steak and my husband had the Flank steak and both were really good. Sergio was so easy to talk to we ended up spending most of our night getting to know him while sipping great margaritas (2 were on the house for our anniversary)! We were too full to have dessert but will definitely go back to Limon again. Thank you Sergio!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    70
    30
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Back with our whole family!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

After a whole year of patiently waiting for our return, we're finally able to eat at Limon with our whole family. Party of 6 with a baby...we all had a feast at Limon! Sergio's restaurant is spacious enough for our baby in his stroller, I had requested to be inside with his air conditioner on and our table was ready and waiting. What a wonderful evening it was, my dad a picky meat eater found his Arrachera steak the best he's had. I was finally able to have the famous Lobster Sergio's style...to DIE FOR! And the Tuna...oh my God the tuna in hibiscus sauce! I should also mention that his Mussels au gratin and Beef carpaccio were both so delicious! A culinary experience and Limon is by far our favorite restaurant on the island. We wanted to go back again on Tuesday only to find it closed. It was their day off. Sergio, you are a great man and we will be back next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paradisiaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited back in April with less than stellar results and came back to give it another try. Unfortunately, it just wasn't that good. Husband had arrachera that was seasoned well, but nothing special. I had the tuna that was cooked fine (just seared) but looked and tasted like a poor cut (it was more fake pink than real tuna steak red). And the accompanying rice came out cold. So wanted to love it but a swing and a miss. Thankfully Sergio didn't charge us for my meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great time!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A group of nine of us went to Limon, on the recommendation of another restaurant owner and TA reviews. All of us had wonderful food and enjoyed talking to Sergio the owner, who sat with us at the table when we were finished. Ask him for his jalapeno's stuffed with cream cheese / wrapped in bacon. We told him they should be an official appetizer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mapleack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sergio's food is heaven sent”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Upon a recommendation 9 of us headed to Limon for a last night dinner for some friends on honeymoon... It was great! Sergio is a great host, and his modern style restaurant is comfortable and the outdoor seating area just lovely. As there was a storm Sergio advised us that he had no fish dishes as no boats had been out.. To me that bodes well - everything here was going to be very fresh!!! With so many things on the menu that sounded delicous we set about sharing many of his starters... the Tuna Tartar was incredible, the guacamole nice a spicy, and tempura light and crispy... Most of us ordered the recommended dishes with the 4-chilli sauce. It looks great when it arrived, and other than being quite a large portion is was yummy.. Especially his stuffed chillis on the side (if these aren't an appetiser on their own soon i'll be amazed).. Sergio has a passion for food and a love for the quality of his ingredients which radiates. We talked to him about the prospect of doing some cook courses on the island, and I just hope that he has done that by the time i go back....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peachhellrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing