We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast of the trip!”

Elements of the Island
Ranked #59 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of the trip!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We are sooooo glad that we stopped here to eat for breakfast. Small restaurant in a small boutique hotel but this was one of the best meals we had. You can order a la carte or a complete breakfast with juice and coffee. We ordered the complete breakfast. I think it was around 85 pesos and worth every penny. The orange juice was hand squeezed (they were squeezing it the whole time we were there) and the coffee was wonderful. We had the Mexicano breakfast, which was a fried egg on tortillas with beans and cheese. I had the scrambled eggs with chaya. The food was delicious but the best part was the homemade bread. It came with two different kinds of jams, one of which was pineapple with bits of coconut in it. It was the most heavenly thing I've ever had. I would return just for the bread. Don't miss this hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank playamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy breakfast”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have been going for four years,service is great,the owner always remembers us,i recommend the muesli and home bread and jam.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrm_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best and healthiest place to have breakfast on the island.”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Every day - starting at 7:30 AM, except closed on Wednesday - this is my favorite spot for a good healthy breakfast with the friendliest owner and staff. Whether you pick a traditional American style breakfast, or a European traditional yogurt/fruit based dish, you can enjoy their homemade breads with two different homemade marmalade combinations with your coffee choice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best European-Style Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This quiet, off-the-beaten-track gem is a wonderful alternative to the loud, hustle-and-bustle of ordinary, main-stream restaurants main drag. Offering a breakfast and light lunch menu, the food is fresh, healthy and delicious. This was the first restaurant I have seen outside of Switzerland itself, that offers a full Swiss-style breakfast, as well as other items on the menu. (They even serve Roesti, a Swiss staple, similar to American Hash-Browns.) The bread is homemade, fresh and delicious, and comes with a variety of fresh jams, and homemade fruit spreads. The orange juice is squeezed right there. There is a variety of European cheeses, as well, on the menu. The owner, Majid, is from Paris, and is a very kind, welcoming soul. (His family still owns a restaurant in Paris.) He made us feel right-at home. I HIGHLY recommend 'Elements' to any new visitor, and any 'return visitor' to Isla Mujeres! This place is not-to-be-missed, and we ended up eating there some 4 times in our week-long stay!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
388 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“THE BEST RESTAURANT [ESPECIALLY FOR BREAKFAST] IS BACK!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This has always been my absolute favorite place on the island for breakfast (not that I minded lunch) and when the previous owners - who had become good friends - closed Elements of the Island I was deeply saddened (and certainly not alone). The great news is it's back - with two friendly and engaging French owners, Magicd and Jean (and my waitress Monica was perfectly lovely) - and while I had GREAT concerns that it would never be nearly as fabulous, or nearly the same, I KNEW it would be from one glance at another patron's food on my very first visit. 6 visits later, in an 8-day stay, is all the proof you need know and I need write. Need I say more? Didn't think so.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements of the Island also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Elements of the Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing