We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
Ranked #14 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. We also have lots of vegan and gluten free options. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We really didn't have a bad meal on Isla Mujeres but I think Lola Valentina's was our favourite. We had the stuffed grouper and the tamarind chicken and both were amazing. There's also a nice vibe to the place - it's open to Hidalgo but you're not eating right on the street like other places. The service was prompt and attentive too. Overall, a great restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    238
    86
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The margaritas are made with fresh fruit juice, not the stuff that comes in a carton or frozen. Lola's offers 2 for 1 margaritas all day until 10:00 pm. The sea bass entree is a must try! The shrimp in adobe sauce was also very good! We had the flour tortilla stuffed with apples served with a rum sauce and again it did not disappoint! TheService was outstanding and the prices were very reasonable!!! For two dinner entrees, 2 margaritas and a dessert it was only 475 pesos which is $35.00 USD. I would definitely recommend this restaurant :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can make a meal trying all of the appetizers!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The setting was super cute and had a great view of all the bustle on Hidalgo. They brought out chips and salsa- which, btw the salsa was probably the best I had on the island. We decided to get two appetizers because we could not decide. The guac was also, probably the best I had during this visit also. Instead of plain old guac it had bacon and pineapple in it (if I'm remembering correctly) and came with mini fried goat cheese balls. SO GOOD. The service was great also. Win-win. Go here for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When looking for something different on Isla, this is the place”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The entry gave a hint that this was not the typical restaurant lining the pedestrian boulevard on Isla Mujeres. We were not solicited to come in , but once seated were greeted and welcomed. The menu has a lot less items on it then other establishments, but it allows Laurie(Lola) to focus on high quality dishes. You can tell that every item is tested and scrutinized for a place on the menu. Each dish pushes the senses of texture, umame, acidity, heat and sweetness. We ordered a vegetarian dish for dinner as well as the surf and turf. One of us being vegetarian and the other gluten free, both dishes were excellent and well thought out as well as met our dietary criteria. The drink menu is extraordinary and encourages one to sample more items. We tried all of the hand squeezed margarita drinks. It was by far the best we had on the island. One more thing that was unique, Lola the owner would frequently introduce herself to each table and sample new test items as well as say “hi” to familiar faces passing by-to the both of us, this indicated that she is both proud of and part of the community here. Both attributes which contribute to a stellar establishment and fine eatery.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdave1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went twice in a day”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent menu options with unique fresh ingredients. Staff was beyond professional! Love the coffee station in the morning and the fun margaritas. The portion sizes are large and highly developed flavors. Love the owner too!

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing