We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooooooo Good!!!!!”
Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
Ranked #14 of 210 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. We also have lots of vegan and gluten free options. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
NJ, USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Soooooooo Good!!!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Watermelon & Jalapeno margarita - DO NOT PASS THIS UP. You will definitely want more than one! Had the stuffed jalapeno peppers for an appetizer - it was amazing. It had some sort of marmalade spicy sauce... so good. As entrees, my wife an I got the coconut shrimp and the chicken tacos with peanut sauce. BEYOND AMAZING FOOD!!!! So good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    244
    89
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

On Isla, we expect simple food, well-prepared. We don't expect innovative or imaginative cooking. Eating at Lola's has changed that perception. Guacamole with bacon, green apple and little balls of deep-fried goat cheese?! Sounds crazy but it sure worked. We both had shrimp dishes; one with a coconut-based sauce and some pineapple and chipotle, the other with garlic and a smoked chili and coconut salsa with jalapeno. Both were executed perfectly with the flavors balanced, the shrimp grilled just right. Lola herself was welcoming and charming and is obviously committed to her craft. It is a pleasure to see someone raising the standard of dining on Hidalgo. If you want something well beyond the usual fish filets, fish tacos, ceviches and enchiladas sold up and down the street, Lola's is the place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“my favourite dinner on isla mujeres was here”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had the snapper stuffed with shrimp, two of my favourite things. It was done to perfection, and the presentation on a bed of rice was beautiful. The unusual margaritas were delicious and fun to try. The restaurant is open and airy, with a nice view of people strolling by. We had a great evening and I would go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sounds better than it is”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We thought the menu looked very interesting but food quality was theb disappointing. The sea bass was ok but small, and the rice being served was just not good. The shrimps in coconut sauce was ok with coconut being far too dominant. All in all okbit no place to go back to.

Helpful?
Thank Christian052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were met by the owner at the door and sat with at a table beside the street.
Lola went through the menu with us and explained her signature dish.
She checked on us throughout the meal with a smile and genuine care.
We had watermelon/ jalapeño margaritas that were crazy good.
Our appetizer was a deep fried mashed potato ball stuffed with chorizo and cheese......omg kinda good!
We got chicken tacos and the signature garlic shrimp .
Both were fantastic!
Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing