We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. We also have lots of vegan and gluten free options. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Decided on Lolas for my 50th Birthday dinner and glad I did. The space is very nice, open, lots of dark wood and tastefully appointed. I had the Stuffed Snapper on special that night. Snapper filet rolled up with shrimp and topped with a citrus cream. Fish was done perfectly, the flavor combination was delightful. Light but rich, perfect texture. My wife chose the stuffed chicken breast. Crusted and pan fried and topped with a tamarind/chipotle glaze. Enjoyed a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and a bottle of red wine. Note: Wine on the island is a bit of an adventure. There are few places that carry decent quality wines and the choices are limited.
Lolas selection is one of the better selections on the Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LolaValentina, Manager at Lola Valentina, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hola and Happy New Year,

Thank you for coming to Lola Valentina Restaurant for your 50th Birthday. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to be able to see you again on your next visit to Isla Mujeres.

Warmest Regards,

Management
Lola Valentina Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    224
    80
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lola en mi corazon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's quite amazing what you can do with Mexican food and some culinary brains: Lola uses the first and of the second, she has an abundance.
The menu ist short, which is of course reassuring - ingredients will be consistently of high quality and the preparation just right.
I had breakfasts, lunches and dinners there and was wowed by the quailty of the food and the professionalism of the service (especially Amy deserves mentioning).
My personal highlights: stuffed poblano chile with a corn coating and fried red snapper on coconut rice. Absolutely delicious!
The prices are fair, the portions are plentiful and you may do much worse than starting your evening with a couple of the original margaritas, which are really a class apart from your usual ready-mixed booze-up concoctions.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HolgerEhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LolaValentina, Manager at Lola Valentina, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hola and Happy New Year,

Lori and Amy would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure serving you and being able to talk to you while you dined. Thank you for trying all our different meals and enjoying them. Glad you also enjoyed our different and unique margarita flavors. We can not wait for you to come again and fill us in on your travels.

Warmest Regards,

Amy and Lori
Lola Valentina Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Two Thanksgivings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We celebrated two Thanksgivings this year, our traditional Canadian one at home in October and the American one while visiting Mexico in November. On a stroll down the town avenue we came across a menu board at Lola Valentina, "Turkey Mole" ...... just the thought was mouthwatering so we made reservations for TG supper the next evening. Big portion of white turkey meat with an excellent mole sauce (one of the best I've tasted). It was delicious with creamy mashed sweet potato. The only thing missing was the pumpkin pie which I think they ran out of?? but didn't have "any room" left for dessert anyway. The rest of the menu looked interesting with a blend of Mexican and North American flavours.
Maybe Turkey Mole is on the Christmas menu? Wish I was there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The cheese fondue is wonderful. The fish with ginger sauce is to die for! And don't forget the incredible cinnamon roll pancakes with cream cheese frosting for breakfast!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HavanaMoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pulled Pork excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our first night back on Isla and we went to the same place as last year - and all was well. I had a pulled pork with plantain dinner while my husband had a shrimp and plantain dinner. The meals were just as great as last year, service was supberb and we enjoyed the guitarist.
We did not have any starter or dessert and felt very satisfied with what we had had.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fromhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing