We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, excellent place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Tortuga
Ranked #7 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arrived on April 1st for a few nights. Upon arrival JJ greeted us and was very friendly in showing us our rooms and getting us settled in. This place is run and operated by Danny whom we hung out with a bit, he was more than happy to let us take out the kayaks for an afternoon in the water, very friendly staff overall. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Isla Mujeres. Tortuga is a little ways from the town center but a taxi was very cheap and easy to catch. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brando86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
60
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in Room 4 (the red room by the pool) recently. It was spacious, well appointed, charmingly decorated, and very clean. Perks were having plenty of hot water, fridge, water cooler, and real coffeemaker. The hosts were accommodating and helpful, along with the hardworking, friendly bar staff who took great care of me all week. The hotel's central location was perfect--far enough from the bustle of downtown, but still walkable or even more fun in a golf cart. Bahia Tortuga's bar is fantastic, but there are also other entertainment options close by, to make for safe and fun palapa barhopping. The fact that the rooms are located so close to the bar/stage can be both a blessing and a curse. You're right in the heart of the action, and it's very convenient to be able to run from the bar to your room, but you'll hear live music most nights. That's great when you're in a party mood, but not so great if nursing a hangover from the previous night's tequila. Not that I'd know anything about that. Anyhow, the bar scene wraps up pretty early (by 10PM usually). If you're seeking absolute peace and seclusion, this is probably not the best bet, but if you want a beautiful and lively property with fun entertainment options, this is perfect. Also, Bahia doesn't serve breakfast, even though it's categorized in Trip Advisor's B&B category. Not that that's a problem--dining in Isla is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damnedbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had high expectations based on trip advisor's rave reviews and Danny and Rhonda exceeded on all levels! Accomodating, friendly, fun and wonderful people they are! We stayedsu-but the whole place just has a clean, fresh, vibe that I loved. We sat by the pool a couple of times-so clean and refreshing-there was live music all three of the nights we stayed. Karaoke on the last night was a blast! The bar is the best on the island and we felt privileged to be the guests staying there! The location of the hotel is pretty centrally located-which was awesome, as we could walk and be at the north end in downtown Isla in 20 mins-or it's a piece of cake to get a cab right outside and there's a company that will deliver golf carts to you the morning you would like! Convenience, comfort, safety, fun, with great owners and a fantastic staff- JJ, Emilio, Alex, and everyone else! Not to mention great food, music and fellow guests! I have already talked to family and friends about this 'must stay' venue for when they come to Isla! Thank you Danny and Rhonda for making our anniversary trip so relaxing and memorable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Enjoyed Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nothing fancy just plain good old friendly hosts. I don't know if they have an official motto, but they said yes and tried to help in every way possible. Clean comfortable rooms, no TV thank you. The bar is probably the best on the island. Met great people here, live local music fun island style. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We rented room 5, quiet clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ls0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay. Danny and Rhonda are wonderful....excellent hosts, very kind people, and great fun. I'd return just to see them. The property is great- very nice rooms, a great little pool, beautiful sunset views from the dock, and a great bar and grill with some really good live music, and great food and drinks (try the habenero margarita). The location is great- a quick walk or cab ride to downtown and the beaches on the north side, but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. You can walk to downtown in about 10 minutes and the beach on the north side of the island in 15-20 minutes, or catch a 30 peso cab ride. Hope to be back soon. Thanks Danny and Rhonda! Jeff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on the island and Rhonda and Danny are incredible hosts. The nachos were great and the habenero margarita was perfecto! The accomodations were very nicely appointed. It was a small nice touch-- they had water coolers in the room! The sunsets were wonderful and we can't wait to be back. Can be a bit busy if you're looking for a silent escape, but it quiets down by 9. Thank you many times over for the great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Bahia Tortuga is a very special, unique, gem of a place! We had planned on staying only 4 nights here and then traveling back to Tulum for the remainder of our weeks vacation. An opening came up at the last minute and we were very excited to have the pleasure of extending the remainder of our stay here at our little home away from home. Danny and Rhonda are the owners and they treat you like family. All of the workers are fantastic and go out of their way to make your stay extra special, from keeping our room spotless each day, to keeping our spirits lifted with a ton of laughs by the bar listening to the super live music each night. We ate here ALOT and I can say that anything you order on the menu will be cooked to perfection! Loved the philly cheesesteak, enchiladas, chicken nachos, cheesburger, guacamole, key lime pie :) All the drinks are awesome, from the ice cold beers to margaritas, to mojitos! The live music is extra fun each night!

Our room was adorable #4, right by the relaxing pool. The room is decorated with rich red color prints and designs. There is a cozy bed, leather love seat and tons of space! A small fridge came in handy along with the large fresh water dispenser. The bathroom is very large with a beautifully tiled extra big shower, with plenty of hot water ;) The room has an air conditioner which we only used 2 nights, since the ceiling/paddle fan worked great! There is a coffee maker with coffee for your enjoyment in the mornings. The room has sliding doors that lead out to the pool with 2 lounge chairs that called our names each day.

Big comfy beach towels and a cooler (if needed) are given out for your travels to island adventures. There are 2 kayaks that you can use to venture off from the dock and explore the marinas, reefs, etc. We really enjoyed just sitting at the end of the pier, soaking up the sun, jumping off the dock for a nice refreshing swim and watching all the boats travel by.

Here are just a few things we enjoyed while on the island:
Just hanging out at Bahia Tortuga on the dock, by the pool, at the bar :)
Renting a golf cart and exploring the island!
Jumping in a taxi for 25pesos to get to wherever you wish
Traveling over near the turtle farm area...a little further down on the left is a small place "Playa" something...wander on back and you will find a quaint sandy beach bar with ice cold beer, lounge chairs and hammocks to ponder the day away and walk along the sandy little beach.
Diving with Casa De Buceo which is walking distance from Bahia Tortuga: Skip the underwater museum and dive 2 reefs :)
North Beach: Sitting way down near The Avallon seems a litte quieter
Restaurants:
Bahia Tortuga!!
The Miramar (near the ferry dock)
Jax (Cheap buckets of beer) up on the deck with a great view of the beach
Mango Cafe (great coffee and breakfast...awesome stuffed pepper)
Barlitos (Our favorite: Great Panini breakfast sandwiches, coffee rolls to die for)
Lola's (Awesome Breakfast!)
The Rooster

There are so many wonderful sights to see at Isla Mujeres and a wide variety of place to stay. But if you are seeking a personal touch with a great island vibe, Bahia Tortuga should be your choice! The photos show a basic sense of how beautiful this spot is, but you really need to see it in person to get the true essence, beauty and vibe of Bahia Tortuga. Danny and Rhonda have put so much love into this place and you can see it and feel it! They also have 3 adorable daschunds who kept us company since I was missing my 3 little pups from home.

We loved our visit with you Danny and Rhonda and will one day see you again! It was hard to say goodbye to you, you really made us feel like family! Please give Minnie, Max and Domino a big kiss and hug from me, I miss them already!

Room Tip: We had room #4 which was a little further away from the main street, so it wasn't as loud at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallylovesScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tortuga

Property: Bahia Tortuga
Address: Av. Rueda Medina s/n | manzana 88, lote 11, Col Bahia, Isla Mujeres 77409, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique 5-room "boutique" hotel and marina with an on-site water-front Palapa Bar and Restaurant that offers exceptional food and thirst quenching drinks... Just a leisure walk down the boat anchorage to town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing