We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Rolandi

Casa Rolandi
Ranked #18 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel last visit to Isla and just ate there this trip-twice. The menu is grande and will please anybody's palate. It does cost to eat this well though. Hillario is the bartender in The Cozy Bar and will take care of your needs with perfect service for your entire stay. We will always go back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    62
    22
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darien,Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Over the years I believe we have had just about everything on the menu and have never had a bad meal. The fish is fresh ,the pasta home made and the beef extremely tender. Current favorites are the shrimp in pineapple, the thai salad and the pappadrelle . The dessert menu has also improved. The soup of the day as always is a great start to the meal. Every table has a great view, and have never sat on the deck but always have a wonderful view of the lights of Cancun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tschbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can never go wrong there - whether it's authentic italian, wood fire pizza (they are one of the original flat bread people), coffee or dessert. All good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sojaxbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Eat here only if you are staying here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have always loved this beautiful restaurant, and we've always made it a point to eat here at least once every trip to the island. We have celebrated many birthdays and other special occasions here over the years. However, the last two times we visited we noticed a change in the business model which just doesn't appeal to us. The outstanding thing about Rolandi is the atmosphere. The view is gorgeous and the restaurant is large and well appointed. In days past, we all looked forward to getting somewhat dressed up (for Isla) and making an evening of it here. The restaurant seemed to strive to be a higher-end dining destination. Now, however, it has more the feel, as one reviewer correctly noted, of a cattle call restaurant typical of the dreary all-inclusive hotels elsewhere. All of the good tables are reserved for the guests of the hotel. On our recent visit, we made reservations in advance and requested a four-top with a view on the deck. We were the first dinner guests to arrive, and the restaurant was completely empty, but we were told that we could not sit on the deck because ALL of those tables were reserved for hotel guests (none of whom were present at the time). We were seated in the middle of the restaurant and just decided to make the best of it. Then, another party of four or so arrived and they were seated at the table right next to us in a still-empty place. We were two tables sitting right on top of each other in an otherwise empty restaurant for most of our meal. It was just weird. Service was rather perfunctory and we felt that our business was just not important to the management. Later on, right before we left, some of the hotel guests began trickling in and were seated at the premium tables as the place began to fill up a little more. I understand giving preference to your hotel guests, but that can be done without making other diners feel unwelcome.The food here is still pretty good, but not as good as it used to be, so the value is just not there. The restaurant has a guaranteed clientele in the form of the hotel guests, so maybe the idea is that corners can be cut without affecting the bottom line. With all of the other excellent choices popping up on the island, such as Limon, there is just no point in making a special trip to Rolandi so you can be treated like a second-class citizen. If you are staying at the hotel, by all means eat here - you can stroll in at any time in T-Shirts and flip flops and get the best tables and service. I hope they rethink this model, but we honestly felt that the experience is just not that special anymore. We have hopes for the reincarnated Maria's Kan Kin and will move over there for the special dinner with a view evening experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank campmarengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Grilled lobster tail, seated in open air restaurant with great ambiance overlooking the bay. Nothing else needs to be said. Oops tripadvisor says say more. OK, the staff was very friendly as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rolandi also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Rolandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing