We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Dinner”

Sardinian Smile Restaurant & Music Bar
Ranked #56 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are three generations making happy to all our customers starting 70 years ago in Sardegna, Italy. For us is a real pleasure to receive people and make feel them in home using fresh and homemade products; from the pasta to the bread. We have a good selection of fishes and seafood. Also we offer mexican food, steak, natural juice, beer and a good selection of wines. We have live music.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian Dinner”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had the lobster ravioli and ceasar salad. The best raviolis I have ever had!! On Hildago street and worth visiting!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shanarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    57
    26
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Homemade Pasta Ever”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were on the Island a couple weeks ago. We enjoyed the atmosphere the best but the Menu options were wonderful. All the Pasta is made fresh! We even spoke with the owners Mom and she had just made 200+ meatballs that morning. Ahhhh delish! We would end most nights there as well. The locals frequented here and we meet them and learned lots of little tid bits about the island. Good tid bits I might add. The music was a great addition as well. Silvia and El and Mama made our trip complete! Hugs to them if they see this. xoxox Ronnie and Peg :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little Italian spot at the South End of Hidalgo”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stopped for dinner here twice on our recent trip to Isla Mujeres. The first evening I had a shrimp, mushroom pasta in a parma rosa sauce. Excellent. Ambience was very nice. Second visit I ordered carbonara which I didn't particularly care for. My husband ordered the meat ravioli and didn't like the red sauce. Oh well, we'd definitely give them another try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toldo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Different and Good”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On an island with a strangely large number of good Italian restaurants, Sardinian Smile stands out as very good among its peers. While the service was a bit spotty - the waiter didn't really speak English or Spanish - and my request for iced tea first came out of a can, then out of powdered mix, and unsweetened seemed to mean artificially sweetened - I can forgive these lapses as I remember the gnocchi in bottarga (smoked cod roe) sauce I ate there. The food was very good and just different enough from mainland Italian to be interesting. This restaurant is at the far end of Ave. Hidalgo, so it has less patrons then the restaurants in the heart of the action. Don't let that fool you - it's a winner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really good food and wine list one of best on isla”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

On south end of resturant row so bit quieter than some on the row. The owner is from Sardina and food is authentic. Wine list is filled with Italian and Spanish wines that pare well with meals and are reasonably priced. Service was better than most places on Isla. The best dinner pared with wine i had while there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardinian Smile Restaurant & Music Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Sardinian Smile Restaurant & Music Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing