We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musa Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte

Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving at the Underwater Museum and Manchones Reef from Cancun
Ranked #1 of 2 Museums in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park surrounding the Cancun, Isla Mujeres, and Punta Nizuc area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of more than six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat through many local authorized marinas."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization was created with an effort of the Mexican Federal Government and Cancun Nautical Association. MUSA continues to grow
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Musa Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

While diving with Carey Dive Shop, we explored the underwater museum. Our dive master was an expert in coaxing the sealife out of the crevices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    166
    108
    39
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggin Hill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Underwater adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This was awesome!! An underwater museum 35ft deep, it was so fun to scuba down and look around. We were taken to the area in the middle of the ocean and geared up with our equipment. After our decent, we swam through MUSA. The sights were amazing, schools of fish, amazing underwater exhibits and a cute stingray.

If you visit Cancun this is for sure one of the best things you should have on your itinerary.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Highlight of Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you're going diving in Cancun, check out MUSA, one of the most interesting dive experiences that you're likely to have. In order to provide an alternative to reef diving (and thus reduce damage to the local reef), an artist has sunk hundreds of statutes in water between 25 and 30 feet deep. New wildlife now lives among the statues, and coral is beginning to make a unique reef.

You certainly get more out of this doing scuba than snorkeling, because you can descend to view the statues in detail. Also, bring an underwater camera--we used a relatively inexpensive Canon, not a DSLR. I once joked that the temples at Angkor Wat and the animals in the Galapagos make every amateur an expert photographer, and MUSA does the same for underwater cameramen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“worth the snorkel trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is sheer mystical beauty. Almost too much to take in. But if you are a snorkerler or diver, this should be on your must do list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great trip to an ever changing site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We liked this trip because it only took a few hours. It's good to see steps being taken to continually rebuild the reefs after damage. Such a fragile system. The speed boat actions at the start made my stomach a bit queasy, but it was fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KandGMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing