We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwater sculpture”

Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving at the Underwater Museum and Manchones Reef from Cancun
Ranked #1 of 2 Museums in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park surrounding the Cancun, Isla Mujeres, and Punta Nizuc area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of more than six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat through many local authorized marinas."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization was created with an effort of the Mexican Federal Government and Cancun Nautical Association. MUSA continues to grow
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Underwater sculpture”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've dived this spot on several different occasions and it's always evolving due to the amount of coral and plant growth on the sculptures. The life size sculptures are very evocative and worth the trip underwater. Take your camera!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    175
    110
    41
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had always wanted to see the sculptures so we booked a snorkel excursion from one of the docks. Even from above the art is really stirring and beautiful. We went on a calm day and were able to see so much detail. It was really cool.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chi_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“MUSA a great dive location if you go with the righ expectations”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I dove this with my daughter. It's true that there's not much visible sea life hanging around the statues. I appreciated the uniqueness of the experience and got a kick out of some of the subtle and not so subtle humor.... including a bunch of statues of guys on their knees with their heads stuck in the sand. The variety of subjects was interesting as well, people, houses, cars, phones, guy working at a desk...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank rpctown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Love this underwater museum, we took a snorkel trip from a local guide and this was way cool to see. It's kind of creepy looking but in a cool way. It was an easy snorkel for kids and families. I would like to see more of it next time we are in Isla.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank velogirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Need to See”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If the water is rough, it is a difficult snorkel looking down 30 feet. It's best to do an escorted dive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
 

Been to Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing