We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for snorklers and new divers!”

Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving at the Underwater Museum and Manchones Reef from Cancun
More Info
$79.90*
and up
Catamaran Tour to Isla Mujeres and Snorkeling in the Underwater Museum of Art
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Cancun Underwater Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 Museums in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park surrounding the Cancun, Isla Mujeres, and Punta Nizuc area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of more than six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat through many local authorized marinas."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization was created with an effort of the Mexican Federal Government and Cancun Nautical Association. MUSA continues to grow
LITTLETON
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for snorklers and new divers!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoy over 400 underwater statues in clear calm waters. Located on the sandy bottom between two reefs, it is an excellent experience for both snorklers and new divers. Its a shallow dive (10 meters). I recommend Scuba Garrido for non-certified and inexperienced divers...they will make sure you enjoy the Underwater Museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GARY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    177
    112
    41
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unique”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We snorkeled above the sculptures and since they are not too deep in the water, we had great visibility.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for all dive types of divers.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an excellelant way to remove "pressure" from the natural reefs in the area. The gov't of Mexico has taken a great step in helping the local diving of the area. We need to respect the natural reefs anywhere in the world, and this is a way of doing just that. It's really a cool dive only about 35 feet deep and will only get better over time with the natural effect of marine plants and animals growing and encrusting the figures. I'm a diver for over 35 yrs. as well as a marine biologist and am well aware of the benefits of progects such as this. Go see it and the rest of the wonderful dive sites in Mexico.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“be careful”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we went snorkelling here - I think you could be cheaper than the $80 we spent straight off the ferry from Puerto Juarez. We were told 2 1/2 hours but we had much shorter - they said as we snorkelled along between the (small) reefs which were beautiful. You have to wear a life jacket - a bummer if you like to get a closer look. The museum is facinating. Also saw a turtle resting on the bottom - the guide chased it sadly and apparently tries to ride them. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. We opted out of the food which was included but they wanted tips anyway....Amazing Caribbean waters. Please don't ride turtles guys!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoseahoseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Unique,Great Dive”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have dove here several times with Mundaca Divers on Isla Mujeres. Each time I go, the sea growth has changed. It is a very interesting dive. Not a lot of fish to see, but you're there to see the statues and the two VW bugs. I recommend doing this dive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing