We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Disappointed”

Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving at the Underwater Museum and Manchones Reef from Cancun
Ranked #1 of 2 Museums in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park surrounding the Cancun, Isla Mujeres, and Punta Nizuc area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of more than six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat through many local authorized marinas."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization was created with an effort of the Mexican Federal Government and Cancun Nautical Association. MUSA continues to grow
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was a little disappointed with this. We took a 2 tank dive and this was one of the sites that I chose...wish I did 2 reef dives instead. The statues are quite amazing, but there was no marine life to see at all. Not worth it in my opinion....If you are going for a dive...choose a wreck or another reef dive and skip this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallylovesScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    175
    110
    41
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A lot of people don't know about this, but its such a cool tour. You are about 30 ft from the statues but you can still see them clearly. You go out in an awesome boat from Aqua World,they do boat tricks and then you go across the ocean. The waves are rough but you have a life jacket and flippers help. I suggest getting a good snorkel with a ball in it, so water cant get in. The fish surround you and there's turtles. By the end of the tour you will be tired but its worth it :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The was a great dive experience!! My son and I made the dive and it was more incredible than we had researched and certainly better in person because pictures don't do it justice. I wish I could have stayed all day and examined each piece of art in MUSA....beautiful. Aqua Adventures Eco Divers made the trip...Jim, Daisy, Wilbert, Berto, Jesus and Sahir were all FANTASTIC!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I did my first dive during my vacation to Isla Mujeres here at MUSA and it's a great easy dive. Carey Dive Center made the trip even more fun with their knowledge of the dive site and personalized tour underwater. It's a simple dive, only 30-35 feet and with good visibility. I got some great underwater shots and I would recommend it to anyone who loves to dive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting...and a little bizarre!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Statues of people have been submerged to form a new reef (similar to sinking old ships so a reef can develop). It was eerie to see them and all their different postures and expressions. I snorkeled, so was confined to viewing them from afar...I think if you saw them closer via scuba, it would be fascinating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkawrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
 

Been to Musa Museo Subacuatico de Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing