We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony Garcia Whale Shark Tour!”

Captain Tony Garcia's Guadalupana Tour Boat
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A group of us chartered a private boat on Isla Mujeres with Capt. Tony Garcia, to see and swim with whale sharks. These animals are so large, but graceful and gentle! They glide right at you with huge mouth agape, but are totally non-threatening. Once you get used to their behavior it is quire fun. A plus was the presence of large manta rays at the same location. Again, gentle and non-threatening.

Be advised the trip to the sight is long, ~1.5 hrs, and if you are prone to seasickness, take medication before hand. The tours leave early, so plan to arrive the night before. The site can be quite crowed with tour boats. Only 2-3 swimmers from each boat are allowed in the water at one time, but you have several opportunities of 15-20 min each to swim with them.

On the way back we stopped at Isla Contoy for a great picnic lunch and a little beach time. Finally back at Isla Mujeres we ended the day with a bit of snorkeling. Great Day!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guacamole"
in 7 reviews
"whale sharks"
in 32 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 2 reviews
"swim fast"
in 2 reviews
"long ride"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 9 reviews
"life jackets"
in 3 reviews
"el farito"
in 2 reviews
"snorkeling tour"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 2 reviews
"punta sur"
in 2 reviews
"passengers"
in 8 reviews
"seasick"
in 6 reviews
"motion"
in 4 reviews
"waves"
in 6 reviews
"water"
in 24 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had an amazing time swimming with the whale sharks with Capitan Tony Garcia! Weather was gorgeous and the ocean was so calm. We found a huge pod of whale sharks (at least 30) and we had so much time in the water swimming with them. There was a large school of manta rays. After the swimming with the whale sharks, we were swimming on the Avalon reef while Capitan Tony and his crew prepared fresh guacamole and shrimp ceviche, delish!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went out to see the whale sharks with Captain Tony. The day we planned, we showed up hungover and the weather wasn't great for seeing the sharks so he told us just to come back tomorrow and we did. He took us out....and yes it was a long bumpy way out, but totally worth it. My husband and I took some prophylactic motion sickness medication (meclizine- buy it OTC at walgreens or any drug store) and we were two of the only three who didn't get sick (I think it was an overly rough day). He was very respectful of the sharks and had no problem telling us and others what the rules were. He also took us snorkeling and made us lunch while we were swimming. Overall a wonderful day and would do it again!

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to Isla Contoy on last march 20th, with capt Tony Garcia, and it has been great! Beautiful snorkeling, fregate colonie, Bernard L'Hermitte, and a very good lunch made by Tony and his team.
Thanks a lot, and I hope that many people will do this trip!

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Chechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took a chance on calling to see if Tony was available to go to Contoy & it was our lucky day! No one had shown up to leave earlier in the morning so 4 of us were able to go with Captain Tony over to Contoy. We stopped on the way there to see if the fish were biting & sadly they weren't. Captain Tony & his nephew prepared an amazing feast for us while we were there and it was just an all around great adventure. I highly recommend Captain Tony as he is such a great guide. He's a local so he's able to answer any question you may have about Isla!

Date of experience: December 2012
2  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tony Garcia's Guadalupana Tour Boat also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain Tony Garcia's Guadalupana Tour Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing