We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Hidden Place”

Captain Dulche's Museum
Ranked #11 of 45 things to do in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Isla Mujeres Museum Capitan Dulche.This Museum is dedicated in loving memory of Captain Ernesto Dulche Escalante, founder or the 5th Naval Region (Isla Mujeres). Captain Dulche´s Maritime Museum treasures a big part of Isla Mujeres history, this is documented in a great photo collection of over 150 that have never been seen before. The Museum also contains an excellent collection of anchors, buoys, chains and lanterns, maritime tools and two projection rooms, showing one video of the famous mexican diver Ramon Bravo and the even more famous Jacques Cousteau. It also has the largest collection of model ships and metates in the whole mexican caribbean.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cool Hidden Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Read some reviews about this place so we had to find it when we visited. It's a cool hidden gem just off the main road that circles the island. It wasn't too hard to find, but if you're looking in the wrong direction you could possibly drive right past it. Turn in and drive past it's small museum to the bottom of the cobblestone road and there is plenty of parking there. Like everyone else states, it's quiet, not many people around and has a nice bar with a large deck and lots of umbrellas. You can also opt to sit on loungers or chairs right on the beach. Very nice set up, lots of places to take photos. Drink prices seemed to be the same as everyone else on the island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4foreigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    143
    36
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were told by a local that this was a place to visit. I'm so glad we went. If you are staying on the North side of the island, you will need a golf cart, moped, or taxi to get there. They have a private beach here with a bar and restaurant, so you can spend the day in a shaded cabana or lying in the sun. It is right next door to a day resort, so it's fun watching all of the folks coming in from Cancun to spend the day.
The drinks and food were good and the service is excellent. You can use the beach for free.
Take the time to walk through the museum and look at the magnificent property! This is a wonderful treasure on Isla!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CherylB615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Mn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our group just happened upon this beautiful area on our tour the island by golf cart day. Luckily there was a young woman at the entryway with a sign that made us aware of something to see here. This is a large, lovely green grass area with an oceanside restaurant and a large pavillion type restaurant entertainment area off the beach. Terrific landscaping and under the pavillion is the museum. It is an interesting place to visit although the museum is a bit musty smelling. But hey, it was free. We also had a small meal at the beachside restaurant-the food was very good and cheap. I recommend a stop here next time your on the island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MnRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Place on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We knew we were in for something unique and special when we pulled onto the tidy brick driveway that lead down to this museum/beach/ patio restaurant and bar and parked in the organized and ample parking area. A manicured lawn,dotted with palm trees and large nautical artifacts, stretches down to a long dock. The patio restaurant, amply shaded with large sturdy umbrellas, over looks a row of lounge chairs on a clean white beach.The interesting and well organized maritime museum is just beside the parking area. It features Captain Dulche who founded the 5th Naval Region and Ramon Bravo a famous athlete and diver who worked with Jacques Cousteau. There is the best display of historical pictures of the island that we have seen and several impressive model ships.
There is no charge for the museum or use of the beach. There is a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and none), snacks and meals. We spent a couple hours looking around and enjoying the view in the patio restaurant and felt we got good value paying 140 pesos for a very large serving of guacamole and two limonades.
If you would enjoy learning a bit of history and relaxing in a lovely location you would enjoy a visit to the Captain Dulche Museum.
We visited late morning and it was very quiet. Our waiter said it gets busier by about 3 pm. Apparently the view of sunset is spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for drinks with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were exploring and happened upon Capitan Dulche's. We stayed to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink and a snack. Very relaxing; quiet. Toured the owner's deck by mistake -thought it was part of the museum - and really enjoyed seeing their unique collection of maritime antiques and artifacts. Go there!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhappy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dulche's Museum also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain Dulche's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing