We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place! Great staff!”
Review of Dopi's

Dopi's
Ranked #15 of 218 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brunch with selection of eggs; Smoothies; Nespresso Coffee; Grass Fed beef; Paella; Duck and more.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's a cute, colourful place and the staff are lovely. I had a beer and a shrimp curry burrito. The burrito was huge! I'd go there again to try other dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 400 of 455 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We ate at Dopi's at a minimum of every day for lunch or dinner. They serve organic, locally (family) raised filet minon for $15 U.S. dollars! The owner, Echo LeLu is a phenomenal waitress and makes friends with her patrons (as she did us) easily. A hidden gem among stones it is hands down the best restaurant on the island and we highly recommend it to anyone who visits. They do not use high pressure sales tactics (as most other restaurants do), they instead let their quality speak for itself. Owner is graduate of MIT!
HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND! SOOOOO GOOOOOD! TRY IT AND LET THE PLACE SPEAK FOR ITSELF INSTEAD OF ME~

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank h0neym00ners2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Manager at Dopi's, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us on Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure for us to meet you while you are staying in Isla. In particular, we are extremely pleased that you liked our food. We hope you will visit us again on Isla. If you need any help or information for your next visit, please do not hesitate to write us on Facebook (Dopi's). We will be delighted to having you again here on Isla!

Best regards,
Echo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were recommended to Dopis by Captain Pulpo (a well know fishing captain on the island) and we were not disappointed. They have the most unique burritos, full of flavor, all freshly made with quality ingredients. They also have great magaritas and will even cook up your catch of the day. Dopi and his wife Echo (not sure on the spelling) are so friendly and welcoming. We were on the island for 7 days and wanted to try out all sorts of restaurants but found ourselves at Dopis twice in three days. Dont miss this little gem when you are in Isla Mujeres!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Manager at Dopi's, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review for us. We apologize much too delayed response on our side.

We hope you are enjoying time back home. Hopefully you have your pictures recovered from your camera.

Once again, we thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked our food. Hopefully we will see you again on Isla!


Best regards,
Echo
ps, my name is exactly as you've written:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stumbled upon Dopi's one afternoon strolling down the main street. We were intrigued by the menu as well as the cheap prices.

The owner, Eladio (Dopi), was incredibly generous. After finding chatting with us a bit, he brought out our tasty entrees and was always attentive. He even brought out a sample of a creation he was working on with the days fresh catch.

There are many lovely and tasty restaurants on Isla Mujeres, this place was special enough for us to return to during out brief visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after getting a friendly local's lunch recommendation on Playa Norte. We are so glad that we did -- the food was excellent. Everything was fresh and prepared exactly as we ordered with whatever modifications we asked for. We had the burritos and quesadillas in different combinations -- all were great. The owner of the restaurant is also the head chef. He welcomed us into the restaurant and even waited on us until other patrons arrived as we were early for lunch. He was very friendly -- we felt like we were in his house for lunch given the hospitality. His family is from Spain and he has spent time as a chef both in Texas and California before landing in Isla Mujeres. The other chef is from Argentina. They have both brought their background and influences to bear on the food and the result is a nice fusion with great flavor. All in all a great choice -- you won't be disappointed with the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stpetetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E P, Manager at Dopi's, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review for us.

We are glad that you liked our house created flavors. Since we home made pretty much everything at Dopi's (Even our meat is from Dopi's ranch in North Mexico), we do intend to create a " eating at friend's house" atmosphere. We are glad you noticed it and liked it.

Once again, thank you very much for the review. We will further improve our service and atmosphere, hopefully by the time of your next visit, we will be deserve another good review from you.


Best regards,
Echo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dopi's also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Dopi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing