We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Maria del Pilar
Ranked #26 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is an economical hotel with lots of amenities. So long as you are not a light sleeper, you will love how cute and well equipped it is. You could definitely stay here and not need to eat out, if you were on a budget. The owners have thought of everything you might need for the kitchen, and the fridge is full size! If you have not been to Mexico before, you might have issues with insects, but you will find them everywhere you go. Even large hotels have to spray bomb several times a day to keep them at bay, and then you are breathing that stuff, as well. I am a very light sleeper, and l found it to be very noisy, due to the previously mentioned night club down the block. However, it is not possible to stay in the vibrant centre of Isla, and avoid noise.
I am being honest about the downside, but l also thought it was a lovely little hotel, and well worth the price. The owners are very nice, and do their best to accommodate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maria del Pilar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked this hotel through Isla Mujeres Vacation Rentals and loved it. I stayed for 7 days and would definitely stay there again. It is a budget hotel and very reasonably priced so if you are looking for fancy or luxury this is not the place to stay. The location is perfect, right downtown so within walking distance to the stores, bars, restaurants and beach. The rooms are very basic but have everything you need and they are clean and comfortable. There is a great outdoor dining area in the back and a well equipped kitchen so it is perfect if you want to have a few meals in your room. Even though it is right downtown I found the room very quiet especially if you have the fan or air conditioner turned on. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank KinManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel, Maria del Pilar on pictures of the website they have posted. We only needed a place to stay for 3 nights before we were able to stay at a condo. we had arranged through a travel agent on line for this accommodation. We had a confirmed reservation for a room with two twin beds and a late arrival. We got there and they could not find our reservation, no room booked, no English dest clerk. We managed to communicate we needed 2 beds (2 single woman). she finally understood . she gave us two rooms separately. It was so late that we didn't notice there were no towels at all, and Mosquitos in the room that bit my friend all night long, not to mention that it was like a basement room. No soap, no water, nothing. We knew that the room only cost $44 a night, so we weren't expecting much. But no way could we continue to stay when in the morning we were told by a hand written note that they did have a room for us with 2 beds, and we had to share one room the size of a closet. needless to say, we did find another place. Beware of this hotel. The pictures are very deceiving . would never recommend thus hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonnieBarHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Maria del Pilar again for six nights this time. No regrets! The location is ideal. The service is just right. You still hear the music from Hidalgo Street, but only 10pm to midnight and if you use the air conditioner, it is muted. We would definitely stay again, and as I said in my older review, I hope it can be for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodiog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks & really enjoyed my time. Great location, the room was always kept clean & the staff were very friendly. I found it to be good value for money & hope to stay again. Thank you for your hospitality Mr & Mrs Gunther :)

Stayed: December 2012
Thank EnglishmaninBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The band next door had drunken drummer who couldn't keep time playing late into the night every night of the week. Stay away from Gringo Street.
Friendly service was a plus. Having a full sized fridge was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnelaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in the downstairs studio with AC and full kitchen for approximately $40 per night. Pre-paid a deposit with PayPal and left a $40 security deposit at check-in (which was refunded on check-out). Gladys and Gunther were both lovely and their staff were all inconspicuous and efficient.

The room was quirky (really high kitchen counter, interesting painted-over door in the middle of the wall) but well equipped (comfortable beds, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, dishes). Plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the ancient shower, the toilet flushes (NOT as common as you might think in Mexico!), and the AC effectively cools the room. If you are looking for modern and/or fancy, this isn't it. It isn't even Motel 6 by American standards--but hey, it's Mexico, people! The furnishings are "homey" but not new, the fixtures have the usual calcium deposits, and the decor is Isla-quaint. But everything works just fine. Great closet/storage space with a little safe for valuables. Fun little patio facing the street with comfortable lounge furniture and a dining table for morning coffee and "in-room" dining if you don't feel like going out.

The location can't be beat: steps from the main restaurant/bar street (Hildalgo), minutes from the beach and the ferry, around the corner from fantastic activity vendors (diving, tours, etc.) and the grocery. While there are other reviews complaining about the noise level, with doors and windows closed, the noise was barely noticeable and I had no issues sleeping. The bars and music clubs stop for the most part around 1am. If you want serious quiet, stay elsewhere (there are plenty of hotels outside of town). If you want to be able to walk to absolutely everything and be right in the heart of Isla at a fantastic price, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Kiin
Hotel Villa Kiin
#10 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Casitas
Maya Casitas
#11 of 40 in Isla Mujeres
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Paradise Suites
#19 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Berny
Hotel Berny
#29 of 40 in Isla Mujeres
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Martin Isla Mujeres Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria del Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria del Pilar

Address: Calle Abasolo 40 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $30 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom made swimwear! We have fabrics and notions to choose from. Bring your idea and we can make it for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing