We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried whole fish fresh from the boat”

Minino's Cocteleria
Ranked #47 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fried whole fish fresh from the boat”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

If you've never tried fried whole fish (Pescado Frito) this is the place to do it!! The seafood is caught fresh daily from their own boats and cooked to order. If you are a seafood lover who likes to sit with your toes in the sand, this place is for you. =^••^=

Helpful?
Thank KATZANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    119
    36
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sand in toes”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We so loved sitting with our toes in the sand and watch sunset. 3 of us had grouper with garlic. Light normal and extra garlic. Fantastic. Hubby had shrimp and lobster which he shared. Great nite great food.

Helpful?
Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grilled Fish at it's simplest and best”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

we really wanted some simple grilled fish and were recommended to visit Minino's.. we were not disappointed. We shared some grilled fish, octopus and squid with some simple rice and beans and it hit the spot.
There isn't anything superficial about Minino's - what you see you what you get - the effort is on the food not decor - but there is something wonderful about having sand between your toes, sipping a local beer, and eating simple but great food...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peachhellrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Whole fresh fish to die for”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

You come to an island for relaxing, the views and in this instance the fresh fish....red snapper fried whole with garlic sauce on the side. Haven't had something this delicious in some time. Service was friendly and accommodating. Minino's is a must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If it were not for some Isla Mujeres regulars that know the island like the back of their hand, we would not have ever thought to eat here. It's in a prime location, right by the ferry dock and right on the beach. The first impression of the building is that it's a little run down, maybe a little scary. The staff was so sweet, and the food was delicious. We choose the table right in the sand where the waves touch the beach. It what you imagine when your in a small island town. Open air seating, right in the sand. While dining there, the fish boats were coming in with their fresh fish of the day. We got to see the fisherman filleting and cleaning the fresh fish right in front of us. Those fish were then sent to the restaurant and were cooked to perfection for our dinner! Now that is fresh fish! Would highly recommend this restaurant and when we are back in Isla we will for sure stop by again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minino's Cocteleria also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Minino's Cocteleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing