We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located so close to the beach, on the island corner. Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chichi's 'n Charlies
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Located so close to the beach, on the island corner. Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Yes, it's not the fanciest place. Not super spiffy. The wifi is there but does not have great range. The location makes it a dream come true. At the corner of the island. Beach in two directions. Food on site or nearby. Benito & Rodolfo & crew always polite. AC. Daily room cleaning. If you want dance, go elsewhere, please, and leave the rooms to the rest of us who came to be near the water. You can watch the boats head out for whale shark adventures every morning, or join them. Free use of loungers and kayaks.

Room Tip: Two rooms in the main building maybe 10 meters from the sea. The rest just set back a hair. Upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Perhaps the secret of staying here is asking upon arrival. We were on the Island last week and arrived without a hotel. After a bit of haggling we were able to secure a room for about half what the closest competitor was proposing and had a corner room with a view over the beach.

The room was very basic and needed some attention but for $50 a night and being less than 20 metres from the beach we thought this was excellent. Nautibeach hotel (immediately behind) was charging double this for apartments which supposed sea views (that were nothing of the sort).

The room was clean, came with towels, soap, shampoo, etc. The sheets were clean if a little worn and the shower was average at best.

We came here after staying at a huge 5 star resort charging close to 10 times more and found this place infinitely better. Aside from the proximity to the beach you have free access to beach chairs and parasols. Furthermore the portion of the beach benefits from very few rocks and more of a breeze than other parts of the coast. You are also a stones throw from the sunset grill (try the seafood ceviche) and Tarzans (for fresh fruit smoothies) and only 10 minutes walk from the downtown strip where restaurants start.

One minor downside is the lack of road. You will have to walk along the sand for a good 20 metres before being able to get to the hotel so if you have large bags you may have a little trouble.

In summary, if you only like large luxury resorts then this is one to avoid. If however, you are happy to mix it up and like a bit of character, happy to be close to a great beach and restaurants then I would certainly recommend this. We were certainly a little apprehensive given the basic nature of the room but would whole-heartedly recommend this place. Just remember to haggle for the price…

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 if possible. It is a corner room and has a fantastic view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wibblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Chi Chi Charlie’s is a true hard core travelers dive hotel. The only real redeeming quality is the proximity to the ocean. The rooms are simple with absolutely no amenities. If you decide to spend the money bring all your own soap etc.
I reserved a room for a friend for a week and paid upfront for three nights. I personally gave cash to Benito the manager. My friends notified me twelve days prior, I sent an email through the hotels web site notifying Benito on the cancelation. When I arrived he claimed he did not receive the email. Yet, he showed me how he received others emails. The only explanation, he deleted my cancelation notification.
We had friends visiting from Cancun three days into our trip I asked Benito if they could have the room for that night. He said he had people that were coming and were staying for four days and were paying a much higher rate than me. He said if they showed up he would refund money. Long story short he only wanted me to take the room for one night in LOW SEASON (Hurricane Season)
Long story short do not give this hotel a cash deposit. In fact I would not give them any deposit of any kind. They do not play by the same rules or have ethics similar to other hotels along the same stretch of beach on the North end. These other hotels have all the amenities, pool, shampoo, soap, towels etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is are second time my wife an I have stayed here.Benito is great all ways doing what ever it takes to make your stay a great one.Very clean rooms and what a view,great beach ,bar .Right next to sunset grill yum.Thank again Benito an staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week and it was so nice. The location can't be better: directly at Playa North!
It is not an excessive place like the huge hotels packed with people who don't want to see something else of Mexico than a pool and sun ;-)
It is a basic accommodation, it's clean, airconditioned (you really need!). Enjoy the sunsets from the beach or balcony and go for good meals with the money you save with staying in this place!
The owner Benito is really friendly like all staff. The rooms come with free use of beach beds and parasols.
Service: i found hairs between the sheets when we arrived (we didn't book in advance). I reported this and they immediately cleaned the room and placed clean sheets. They cleaned the room every day and even gave us clean sheets halfway our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Benito and his crew are wonderful, the price is right, and the location simply cannot be beat. If you are looking for large and fancy, this is NOT your place. If you are looking for small, friendly, comfy and clean, and 30 meters or less to the super beach of Isla de Mujeres, sign on! We are so unable to leave we are booking 4 more nights and flying home, cutting a stop from our trip. Too good to be true. Free umbrellas and loungers while staying here, free use of kayaks, free water refills, wifi (stutters sometimes, but I am using it to write this). A good restaurant. TV but not a lot to watch or good reason to watch it. Small, but now here I cannot imagine staying elsewhere unless it is full. So please don't stay here...when I am coming to town. Otherwise, you would be a fool not to check this one out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#17 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Kiin
Hotel Villa Kiin
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichi's 'n Charlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichi's 'n Charlies

Property: Chichi's 'n Charlies
Address: Av Rueda Medina no 50, Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chichi's 'n Charlies 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chichi's 'n Charlies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing