We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastos Grill

Bastos Grill
Ranked #2 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Best Quesadillas in the
Central, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Got a tip to try this spot by Sig from Cafe Cito. We ventured out on our own during the day to locate it and came up empty when looking for the street. Later, we used a taxi to get us there, but he ended up at Limon. I recalled reading another post that mentioned the loading dock at the supermarket, so we instructed the driver to go around and we saw the blue awning. Phew!

Once there, it was as everyone mentioned. The steak fajitas were to die for. Enjoyed our meal, a few brews, and the conversation from Julio. Definite recommendation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    67
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Introduced to this place a year ago from the couple we rent a house from on the island. We were blown away by the food. it looks like this family turned their home into a small restaurant - and that is not uncommon for this island. When they go "commercial" it will be a little sad because it's that quaintness that adds to the whole experience..You eat on the sidewalk and the neighborhood residents go about their normal business in front of you. Great cultural experience. I seek this place out on every visit. Never disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“local joint.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

good food good price , bad location by the side of the supermarket, plastic tables on the side walk or the street.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 150810Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here, shrimp with garlic were average, I assume that the shrimps were deepfrozen at some point in time.
Mexican food was a lot better, but not really worth the effort of taking a cab there. Price was not as cheap as you would assume in this kind of place, but reasonable. All and all not an experience I will remember, but it did the job....

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We discovered this small Mexican restaurant during our travels to Isla Mujeres! The chips and homemade salsa were delicious and the quesadilla was the best I have had. The quesadilla was enormous and a great value! I highly recommend this joint!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastos Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bastos Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing