We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing short of amazing!”
other travelers have booked this property
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
RELAXING POOL WITH INCREDIBLE VIEWS BACKYARD HAMMOCKS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
RELAXING POOL WITH INCREDIBLE VIEWS
BACKYARD HAMMOCKS
LOUNGE BY THE POOL
BACK YARD BLISS
GRILL, BATHROOM AND SHOWER
BACK PATIO VIEW TOWARDS THE GRILL AND OUTDOOR BATHROOM AND SHOWER
BACK PATIO DINNING
BACK PATIO LOUNGE
GAMES, DINNING, AL FRESCO
EXTERIOR
FRONT OF VILLA
FRONT OF VILLA
PRIVATE HACIENDA
FRONT ENTRY
AL FRESCO HACIENDA DINNING
GREAT VIEWS
LIVING-ENTERTAINMENT ROOM
LIVING-ENTERTAINMENT AREA
LIVING ROOM
GAME AND BOOK LIBRARY
GAMES AND BOOK LIBRARY
MORE GAMES
INTERIOR DINNING
PLEASE USE CUTTING BOARDS
KITCHEN
BOTTLED WATER AND COOLER
KITCHEN BAR
MASTER BEDROOM: KING BED, DOUBLE SINK, ENSUITE BATHROOM/SHOWER AND DOUBLE CLOSETS
MASTER BATHROOM AND CLSOETS
NOT A BAD VIEW WHILE BRUSHING YOUR TEETH!
THERE'S AN ADDITIONAL HALLWAY VANITY/SINK
THERE'S AN ADDITIONAL HALLWAY VANITY/SINK
GUEST BATHROOM: TOILET, SHOWER, SINK
GUEST BATHROOM VANITY
GUEST BEDROOM 1 NOW HAS A KING BED, CLOSET, TV, CEILING FAN, AC.
GUEST BEDROOM 2, AC, TV, CEILING FAN, QUEEN BED, CLOSETS
360 CARIBBEAN OCEAN AND CANCUN BAY VIEWS. SUNRISE AND SUNSETS.
PRIVATE ROOFTOP PALAPA LOUNGE with UNOBSTRUCTED VIEWS OF BOTH CARIBBEAN OCEAN and CANCUN BAY
ROOFTOP PRIVATE PALAPA
UPSTAIRS PRIVATE LOUNGE
SUNSET FROM THE PRIVATE ROOFTOP PALAPA
ANOTHER AMAZING SUNSET FROM THE VILLA
BACK PROPERTY CLIFF (NO DIRECT WATER ACCESS)
ONE OF THE VILLA'S NEIGHBORS
The Villa's neighborhood Punta Sur
6 LUXURY PRIVATE VILLAS AT THE SOUTHERN TIP OF ISLA MUJERES at PUNTA SUR
VILLA ENTRANCE WITH LIGHTS ON
Punta Sur isn't flooded with lights or noise so evenings at the Villa are tranquil/romantic
hard to leave the Villa...day or night...
SUNRISE OVER CARIBBEAN OCEAN
magical sunsets from the villa
MAYAN TEMPLE RUINS ON PUNTA SUR
ACROSS THE ROAD ON OCEAN SIDE
PUNTA SUR CENTER FOR MAYAN ENERGY / CENTRO DE ENERGIA MAYA
PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES & LIGHTHOUSE PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SCULPTURE GARDEN PUNTA SUR
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES AT PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES AT PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE OVER LIGHTHOUSE PUNTA SUR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isla Mujeres, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jada M
Victoria, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing short of amazing!”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We vacationed with another couple for a week in Feb/March 2015 for a week. Both couples are in their 30's. We had a great experience booking the place from Teresa the owner and Monica the property manager! I will include several tips below as I didn't see a lot of tips from other travelers. The property was very clean and amazing, the photos do not do the outdoor space justice, it's amazing! The view is even better than in photos. One of the best a saw on the island, the best outdoor space we also saw on the island.

The location of this property is at the very south end of the island which is quiet and we loved, it takes about 20 minutes to get to the north end but with a golf cart was very easy and we enjoyed the drive. I personally would never stay on the north end but did like to go there for dinner and one day on the beach.
I highly recommend you have monica pre-book your golf cart and travel from the airport, she get's a fair price and works with great people. You will pay each of the companies directly. When working with the golf cart company let them know day and time you want them to pick up the cart rather than the day you leave as they came the day before for us.
The internet was spotty at best and almost non existent for our trip. It may have been an issue and would could've called to get it cleared up but did not so it may have been our issue as well. They do have a landline which you can use for free phone calls to the US and around the island which was helpful.
Bring a lot of CASH! Many restaurants and bars take only cash sometimes Visa and MasterCard and almost never AMEX so just know that. You can get away without using peso but you could bring $100 or so just to have.
The bedrooms are very nice but the master is significantly larger than the other two and nicer, so if traveling with other couples know that prior to arrival so there's no issues with who get's what room. The smaller two bedrooms are nice and clean but small and have full/queen beds.
There so many amazing restaurants and bars, we really liked the ones on the south side, Maria's Katkin is a must, amazing food and amazing view. The Joint is a great bar only open until 6pm, We enjoyed 60 peso beach for snorkeling and the beach clubs had a beautiful beach and were free just order a drink! Also, the beaches on north are free as well you just need to buy a drink or food. You don't even need to get to the beach too early they don't get busy until noon or so. You can really stop anywhere and eat we did not have bad food on the whole island. I felt the food at the south end was better than north but there were still some great places on north as well. We did not have bad food the entire time we were there. The food is not expensive but not cheap either I would say prices are about 25-30% less than US. If your from east or west cost probably about 50% less.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Space
Liked least: Internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dogfacedb...
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, quiet”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Place was as described, fabulous views, comfortable furnishings, nice little pool, hammocks and lots of outdoor seating, had many card games at night, both outside and in.
Minimal cookware, mainly breakfast, went out for dinners, lunch.
POSITIVES: My priority is always a VIEW, and they had it! Not disappointed. Wonderful walking path on east side (along Caribbean), walked everyday. Maris'a KanKin restaurant nearby, and the BEST. Nice and isolated location, away from hustle and noise of other end of island, huge plus. And still easy to get to food market and town by golf cart, easy trip. Very spacious, 5 people had lots of room to spread out. Very nice light daily cleaning, beds made, dishwasher run.
NOT AS POSITIVE: Guest beds like rocks. Internet and TV really are more of a miss than a hit, slow and spotty. 2 scorpions in the house. More mosquitos than I expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Too firm beds
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jez23_11
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, great location - best on the island from what we saw”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Zama is a beautiful villa in an ideal location on the less developed side of the Southern end of Isla De Las Mujeres. It is well set out with large bedrooms upstairs though the smaller one downstairs with bunk beds is rather less luxurious. It stays cool through the day with the large french windows that open fully onto the pool and view. The views out to the Caribbean are stunning, we saw dolphins swimming past on a number of occasions, turtles had nested on the beach below us. The snorkelling is very good if you are prepared to be adventurous and head 1-200 yds either to the left or the right though visibility is not always great. Millky makes a mean breakfast too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Internet access was not functioning properly, but we weren't too worried by this
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egbg2008
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location, beautiful views, great house!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed during the week of Jan 25-Feb 1 with two other couples. Expansive and sunny patio area that also includes plenty of covered space if you need to get out of the sun but still want to enjoy the beautiful blue Caribbean waters. The pool was a bit small for the size of the patio, however for our group of six it was just fine to hang out in. Overall the patio and pool were a bit "tired" looking. It seems they're in the midst of the maintenance cycle so the patio area is in need of painting and the pool could use some TLC. That being said, it was perfectly acceptable. The house is spacious and well laid out for a group of six. We prepared breakfast in the kitchen each morning, along with a few lunches and dinners, and of course a lot of drinks and we found the kitchen to be well-equipped and functional. The common areas are roomy, only complaint was the lighting in the evening. Dim overhead lights are the only option so made it was somewhat difficult to read, play games, etc. However - not a big deal. Overall this is a great location and the views cannot be beat. It's a great spot for your island get-away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn G
Johnston, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“As advertised...a great property”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five nights here recently and were not disappointed. Everything was as described online. We traveled with another couple and while the house was smaller, it was plenty of room. The kitchen had everything we needed (we only cooked two meals). We did request to have some grocery items brought to the house before we arrived, and they got everything except two things, which wasn't a big deal. Someone came around our first morning to collect the money for that. The entire house was spotlessly clean. The views were spectacular, and the pool area was perfect. Other reviews mentioned the pool being small, and it is if you are wanting to actually swim. We just floated and hung out, and it was perfect for four adults. Cleaning was done everyday (including mopping of the floors and laundering linens). My only point of interest that might be worth knowing, is that the bathroom in the master bedroom is actually IN the bedroom; as in there were no doors at all for the shower or toilet area. There is also an outdoor shower and bathroom by the pool, which was great and kept us from dripping water all over the house.

It was nice being at the southern end of the island, where it is considerably quieter. It took about 20 min by golf cart to get downtown, but we thought it was well worth being able to enjoy the quiet each evening. Highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis G
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, I, and another couple stayed at Casa Vaya Vida for 5 days in January 2014. It was our first trip to Isla Mujeres and the first time we didn’t do an all-inclusive in Mexico.

House
As soon as I walked in the door two things struck me, it smelled and looked clean and the view was fabulous. Throughout the stay you constantly were reminded that the whole process was well thought out. The internet was quicker than I thought it would be on an island (I think DSL), Dish network with a decent package, electronic security was good, tons of plug ins, a small radio to play your Ipod next to the pool, there were a lot of board games, tons of books, tons of dvd’s, maps for the island, etc. The large room layout worked out well for 2 couples. We didn’t spend a lot of time up there but the upper deck provided a great place to see the view, especially at night. With all that said, we probably spent 75% of the time in or near the pool. I thought in the pictures and from one other review that it was going to be pretty small but it turned out to be a good size with plenty of room for 4 not-so-small adults. Really the only problem I had with the entire house was with one little thing in the master bedroom. Maybe it’s my shy Iowa upbringing but I’m not a big fan of the open bathroom in the bedroom concept. Having the shower out in the open is not a big deal to me but a bathroom with no door weirds me out a little. It wasn't a big deal and I dealt with it but it’s just not my thing. Overall we were all very satisfied


Service
We ran into all kinds of issues when I was trying to pre-pay for the trip. These issues had mostly to do with my bank but the homeowner was very understanding. We paid about 6 months in advance so once we paid we got the basic information. As the dates started getting closer she sent us all the necessary information and the few times I had questions she was quick to answer.
The homeowner gave us recommendations for the golf cart as well as the transportation to the airport. The golf cart people didn’t work out because they didn’t have any large carts left but the AGI tours people worked out great to get between the airport and port.

We had sent a list of groceries we needed to Monica and she got us exactly what we asked for and it was waiting in the fridge when we arrived. I believe Monica actually had to go to 3 places to fill our list. The lady cleaning the house every day did a great job and we barely knew she was there until she came out to the pool and said goodbye.


Location
If you going to spend a large majority of your time in the downtown area then I think you’d be better off staying somewhere else. It takes about 25-30 minutes by golf cart to get to the downtown area. There were plenty of good places to eat within 10 minutes of the house and a large grocery store also nearby. We really liked being on the south side of the island where it’s quiet and relaxing. A couple times downtown was all that we needed to know the south side was our preference.

Overall we were very happy with the whole experience and would recommend staying at Casa Vaya Vida….I forgot one thing….Where is the light for the pool?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing