We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for snorkeling”

Garrafon de Castilla
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great for snorkeling”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a nice laid back beach. great for snorkeling. 5 dollars us for day can use beach chairs servers bring buckets of beer to you. Fun day after a week of rain.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank carieborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    314
    132
    30
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Inexpensive Snorkeling Option”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We came over to Isla Mujeres on a catamaran tour, so only had a few hours to spend exploring the island. We rented a golf cart and after checking out the turtle farm, made it to this place--Garrafon de Castilla--for some snorkeling. The snorkeling was excellent, and the cost was low enough that we didn't feel bad about the fact that we weren't going to be able to spend very much time there. We rented a locker for our valuables, just to be safe, and had no issues whatsoever. There were plenty of other people there, but I wouldn't call the beach crowded. One thing to note was that there were a couple of women on the beach who chose to go topless. This was not a problem for us, and I don't know how common or uncommon the practice might be at this location, but if seeing a topless woman on the beach would be a problem for you or your family you may want to research this a little more.

We thought about eating at the restaurant, but it was crowded enough that we couldn't get a table and we feared that we might miss our boat if we waited and ordered and then didn't get our food very quickly, so we wound up not actually eating there. The prices, though, seemed reasonable.

I'd definitely recommend this place if you're looking for an inexpensive location to spend some time on the beach or to do a little snorkeling on Isla Mujeres.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to snorkel from shore”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

For only 50 pesos you can enjoy this very small beach and snorkeling area. The beach is very, very small - not great if a lot of people are here, but much more laid back than the nearby Garrafon amusement area. There is a upper deck with chairs and shade and they have showers and very clean restrooms.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Otter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cheap place to spend the day snorkling”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good cheap very laid back place to spend the day. Next to the Garraffon park so great snorlking without the cost. Not fancy but very nice hang out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snorkel right off the shore”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This and the snorkel areas near the Avalon Hotel are the only places I found that allow you to snorkel right from the shore. If you are on a budget this is an ok place to go. You are swimming at and old concrete dock that has fallen into the sea, rather than a true reef. Washrooms are good for Mexican standards. Ergonomic chaise loungers are hard to get in and out of, so try the normal loungers under the palapa or on the sand in front of the palapa. You can snorkel to Garaffon park, but be mindful of not going to close to the reef otherwise security will whistle at you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank locontet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrafon de Castilla also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Garrafon de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing