We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and snorkel”

Garrafon de Castilla
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and snorkel”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Without having to pay the mega bucks next door to see some fish, you can pay 50 pesos and see the same fish on the same reef. Beach is quite small but very nicely kept. You have the use of their beds and umbrella and also he use of their showers. Nothing fancy, but well worth the visit. They also have a restaurant there that is very reasonable. We will definitely go back on our next visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shamro1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    320
    132
    30
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

And way cheaper than Garrafon! We had a great time snorkeling at Garrafon de Castilla and saw much sea life, from a lion fish to a large sea slug. It's so beautiful and it's a very family-friendly place. Definitely worth a trip!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fkaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabetha, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling and beach”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped by for a visit after Jimbo recommended it. We knew going in that this was a snorkeling beach and not much else. The entry was cheap, 50 pesos, and it was only 70 pesos to rent the snorkeling gear. We spent hours out in the water exploring all we could find. We wanted to go back, but didn't have time. They have a small little beach area where you can hang out and they also have a small outdoor restaurant and bar.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun beach/snorkeling club”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Is this the most mind blowing snorkeling site around the island? No, but it is worth 50 pesos for a half day of snorkeling and laying around of the beach. I really enjoy their facilities, the covered area up top and the beach loungers below. I think it is a great place to take new snorkelers and while you probably won't see anything extraordinary, I did see a lot of parrot fish, some groupers and rock fish, a barracuda and sting ray. The staff is always friendly also, plus there are lockers, showers, bathroom, etc on site.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank llkoolaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Worth the 50 pesos, but not much more”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

As many travel books and websites will tell you, this place is a great deal at 50 pesos ($4US) compared to the Garrafon Park next door at $59US. You can snorkel the same reef, you just won't get to do the ziplining (unless that is your thing). The reef is worth a swim to see all of the fish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_Joose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrafon de Castilla also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Garrafon de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing