We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The call of the century!!!!”
Review of Barlito

Barlito
Ranked #14 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Barlito Marino Paraiso offers daily outdoor dining with fresh made to order entrees highlighting the incredible fresh produce, locally caught fish & meats of the Yucatan with our wonderful homemade baked goods. An incredible setting on the bay with tree covered dining areas, beautiful views & lots of natural wildlife. Our menu options include homemade bagels, salads, nachos, pizzas, fish n chips, shrimp & paninis. Lots of vegetarian options. Open daily at Marina Paraiso, breakfast,lunch & dinner from 7:30am to 9:30pm. Our palapa bar serves beverages from 7:30am to 11pm.
ponte vedra beach, fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The call of the century!!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Barlitos is a very family friendly, excellent restaurant. The staff for instance treated you like good friends even before you got to know them. Their homemade food is wonderful and you know it is super fresh because some of the staff get up at 4:00 in the mornings to go bake. If you decide to get a panini ( definetly do!) beware, they are HUGE to begin with but then they are packed with delicious ingredients. The food portions were surely worth the price (not too much). The restaurant could use some air conditioning like all other places on the island but sit outside and you will most likely get a little ocean breeze. It is one of the "must go to" places on Isla. ENJOY!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tednugent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    155
    55
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“DEEEEElicious!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went here for breakfast and lunch. One recommendation - share the paninis!!! They are enormous and we always had left overs. First time to Barlito's was for lunch. Ordered a meatball panini, bbq pork special panini and the cheese and chorizo panini. Every single one was fantastic. Sides were good too. We went back the next morning for breakfast. Each couple ordered one panini and one cinnamon roll to share. Again, fantastic. Cinnamon roll was absolutely delicious. This is a must each time we go to the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cousinjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches made with the freshest ingredients.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped in for lunch one afternoon at the suggestion of a couple we had met while snorkeling. They were raving about how good the Panini's were so we figured we'd give it a try. Wow! Were we glad we did. My son got the Pulled pork panini and I got the vegetarian. I thought my son was going to lick the plate when he finished the sandwich because he didn't want to leave a single morsel behind and the veggies on the mine tasted like they had just been picked from a garden the must have in the back. Tiffany, the owner was so friendly and spend time chatting with my son and I and gave us some suggestions of things we might want to do before we left Isla. If you are looking for a delicious sandwich, friendly service and some great advice about things to do/see on Isla you should head to Barlito's

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I get it, but...”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Sure, the food is 'good' - great huge dripping cheesy american fried etc. Not what we came to Isla for however. They will continue to do well so long as there are less adventurous travelers out there who need the comforts of home. Recommended if that's what you're after.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rumble66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolrabRoil, Owner at Barlito, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for thinking our food is good but we are a bit confused by your comment "great huge dripping cheesy american fried etc." We do have more Americanized food with our paninis, sandwiches & salads. And our homemade breads are definitely North North American recipes but we don't have anything fried on our menu. We don't even have a fryer at the restaurant! Our sides are fruit, roasted beets, pasta salad & coleslaw. So you are looking for typical American fried food, we are not the place! If you want a place that takes advantage of all the great fruits, vegetables, chicken, pork & eggs in Mexico with an Americanized flair, then Barlito would be for you. If you want more traditional Yucatan food check out Picus, Brisas Grill, Kash Keken Chuc, & Carnitas Nouveau La Esperanza. Enjoy your next trip to the Island

Our best regards,
Brad & Tiffany Wareing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AhhhMazing Panini's!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ever since coming back home to Seattle our family has been craving the food at Barlito's!! We loved talking to Tiffany and got to know her through Trish who is a regular. She had so much knowledge of the island and a love of their community! (we also found out she helps the stray problem and is an animal lover). It is always fun to imagine what it would be like to be them living in paradise! But back to the food! We would order a full panini with a side of fresh fruit (even custom banana + peanut butter panini for my husband) and we were able to wrap the other half and save it for later! I loved sitting outside under the umbrella, and then another morning we sat at the counter and watched how they made everything and WOW how they manage to crank out the food in a small but very clean kitchen! We are looking forward to being back in Isla this month to go to Barlito's and enjoy more delicious fresh breakfast and lunch items! If you want their famous cinnamon rolls get there early, they were always out when we came at 10am!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelleandleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlito also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Barlito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing