We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific breakfast and lunch joint”
Review of Barlito

Barlito
Ranked #15 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Barlito Marino Paraiso offers daily outdoor dining with fresh made to order entrees highlighting the incredible fresh produce, locally caught fish & meats of the Yucatan with our wonderful homemade baked goods. An incredible setting on the bay with tree covered dining areas, beautiful views & lots of natural wildlife. Our menu options include homemade bagels, salads, nachos, pizzas, fish n chips, shrimp & paninis. Lots of vegetarian options. Open daily at Marina Paraiso, breakfast,lunch & dinner from 7:30am to 9:30pm. Our palapa bar serves beverages from 7:30am to 11pm.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrific breakfast and lunch joint”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Couple that owns/runs is terrific and food was wonderful. Though get there early if you want to try the cinnamon buns - we found out the hard way they run out fast! Breakfast pannini was very good and enough to share.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    159
    55
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A little place right in the heart of downtown Isla. American couple who are very friendly and you can tell enjoy what they ae creating for folks to put in their bellies.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot, excellent service!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to pick up freshly baked items like bagels, brownies, and muffins. You can also sit down and enjoy full breakfasts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donna580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food and service here were delish. The cuisine was a little more American than Mexican, but it was spectacular. The prices made it easy to return several times on our short stay in Isla Mujeres.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Fresh Flavors, Friendly Faces”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

In two short years, Barlito has become an Isla Mujeres institution and a "must stop" restaurant for us. We have developed a tradition of heading straight for Barlito the moment we step off the ferry, and on this trip we also ate our last Isla meal here.

Their delicious, filling Paninis and legendary cinnamon rolls would be enough to guarantee their success, but the warm hospitality from ebullient owners Brad and Tiffany could make Barlito anyone's favorite hangout. The bread, bagels and cinnamon rolls are freshly baked by Brad each morning. And Tiffany brings you not only your food but also news of the island's upcoming events and suggestions for your vacation--so visit Barlito early in your trip. The Isla Mujeres tourism board really needs to put Tiffany on their payroll as Official Island Hostess.

On this visit, two in our party ordered the Jill E Panini (most of Barlito's Paninis are named after Isla residents—I can think of no greater honor than to have a Barlito Panini named after oneself). The Jill E combines chicken with caramelized onion, apple and goat cheese, an ingenious harmony of flavors. Another ordered the famous Dinosaur Pulled Pork, topped with a mound of fresh cole slaw. I was also determined to try the pork but opted for the One-Eyed Cajun, a Three Cheese Panini stuffed with pulled pork. And yes, the One-Eyed Cajun is also named after an Isla resident, one perhaps a bit more colorful than Jill E. I would never thought to marry pulled pork with cheese but this sandwich was a revelation. Each of our Paninis was 95 pesos and drinks like fresh lemonade and iced tea were 20 pesos each. The total bill was 460 pesos, or about $8.75 US per person. My wife finds it impossible to finish an entire Barlito Panini, so for her that $8.75 was for two meals.

We couldn’t leave the island without stopping at Barlito for a farewell breakfast of warm, gooey cinnamon rolls and coffee on our way to the ferry. These may well be the best cinnamon rolls you will ever taste. Bagel lovers will tell you the same thing about Barlito’s home made bagels, although I have yet to work my way around to this portion of their menu.

Barlito is on the corner of Hidalgo and Abasolo. They are open from 8 AM to 3 PM Tuesday through Saturday. We would never visit Isla Mujeres without stopping at Barlito, and we wager you will feel the same way after visiting this charming café.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMartin216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlito also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Barlito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing