We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but pricey for Isla”

Chuuk Kay Restaurant Bar and Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but pricey for Isla”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Food was good with slightly different takes on local dishes. Sit in the sand, but risk the mosquitos at dusk, or under the roof of the open air patio with some very cool lights and fans to keep the bugs away. We thought it a bit pricey. We had good, friendly service as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Place Nice Location”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The wife and I wanted to try the Tik n Zik style fish so after reading another review on tripadvisor we decided to try Chuuk Kay.
After arriving around 5.00pm we found ourselves the only patrons in the place.
The waiter gave us a few menus and after a few minutes came back to take our order.
We asked about the Tik n Zik style fish but he said the fish they had were just to big for 2 people. What???
Kind of bummed we ordered the coconut shrimp and the drunken shrimp.
I must say i do not like my coconut shrimp very sweet and after tasting it i was really pleased that they tasted just great!
The wifes drunken shrimp were fine but she admitted that my coconut shrimp was much better!
We drank soft drinks so i cannot comment on any of there drinks but the dining experience was just fine.
They are located right next to the lagoon so sitting and watching the fishing boats come in after a day of fishibg was kind of cool.
Also they have some tables in the sand if you want to go that route.
It was a nice evening when we went but it looks like it would get very hot here in the summer months as there is not many areas were a breeze was felt.
I would come back again next time on Isla.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gobetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was good and reasonably priced. Setting was beautiful in huge pallapa bar and entertainment with Javier and Banda sin Nombre was terrific.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shnik120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad ceviche!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our 4th trip to the Isla and we still have not eaten at every restaurant. I read about the
hangover soup they served on Sundays, so we checked it out. The music was so loud, we moved to the farthest table away. We asked about happy hour drink special. No comprende. Okay. Hangover soup? No comprende. Dos Sol? Okay. We ordered mixed ceviche. I should have known
something was wrong when she brought it out within minutes. If the ceviche is not made fresh, don't order it! We lost the next day of our vacation, because we were afraid to leave our casita and our banos! We will not go back there next year. There are too many other great places to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, varying food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Cool out of the way palapa style restaurant on the water. We visited here twice. The first visit was really good, I had a garlic butter grouper that was really great. We had several things on the menu and they were all great, including the pina colada, but the chips were very stale. The next visit was not nearly as good, we ordered 2 of the tik n chik style fish (after having it the first time and it being really goods), but this time, it was fishy and not nearly as tasty. Also, menu states that it was .22 per ounce of fish but the charged us the same price for the 2 very different sized fish. The fish came out about 15 minutes before the two shrimp dishes so 4 of us were finished eating while 2 ppl were just receiving their dishes. Seemed a little expensive as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuuk Kay Restaurant Bar and Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing