We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snorkeling!”
Review of El Farito

El Farito
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,872.00*
and up
Private Sailing Tour to Isla Mujeres with Open Bar
Ranked #16 of 45 things to do in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My eighteen year old son and I went with members of Carey Dive Center for snorkeling at two spots off the west coast of Isla. El Farito was one of the stops. I scuba dive, but my son doesn't, however, what he was able to see was as close to scuba diving as one is going to get without going under. Various coral, barracuda, trunkfish, black grouper as well as the ever popular parrot fish and sergeant majors.

There is a slight current in this area, but because its part of marine park, all visitors must wear lifejackets, definitely a good thing. We were the only two on our trip. We had a guide and boat driver who took the time to explain to us what to keep an eye out for.

Through Carey Dive Center, we paid $35 US pp. I felt it was a great price being that there was only the two of us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SunDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Some of the best snorkeling on Isla Mujeres”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We did the 2:00 PM trip with Captain Tony & Mundaca Divers. Well worth the $35 for the great service, good equipment and great snorkelling! Saw a ton of fish, including grouper and barracuda, plus a sea turtle! Easy way for a snorkeling novice to see what it's all about!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We saw wonderful fish. The water is shallow and calm here. Loved it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had a great time...”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We chartered a catamaran for a private sail through Cancun Sailing via cancun-magic.com, part of that included snorkeling at El Farito. We had a great time looking at all the fish, the guide/first mate of the boat took us out and did a great job. I have done some other snorkeling around the island and this is still my favorite. I got some great pictures with my underwater camera, I posted them as well.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank llkoolaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkling”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I would not visit Isla as a snorkler without taking this trip

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farito also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Farito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing