We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bruja

La Bruja
Ranked #69 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Velpen, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

After first visiting, we tried this place and now go back every year. The pina coladas are the best I have EVER tasted. So fresh. We always get the lobter tail and the kids get the arachara tacos. Great food...about normal pricing... but love the local atmosphere!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TracynEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    40
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were staying in the neighbourhood while vacationing on Isla Mujeres and ate dinner here a few times during low season. Lovely (warm, friendly) owners and great food. The fish tacos were the best we had while staying on the island. Everywhere else they were either too fried or too dry - here they were perfect. Also loved their hot sauces.

The atmosphere is very plain and low key and may not be for everyone (some might find it too local). But we loved it.

La Bruja is off the beaten path if you're coming off the ferry for the day or staying in a hotel in "El Centro". But it's a small island and nothing is really that far away here or that hard to reach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MellyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is the real deal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food is amazingly good and the owners are very nice. They understand English and how to make some of the best food on the island. It's off the beaten path away from most of the tourist spots but well worth the effort. When we have a golf cart we always stop by for some food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wesnoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien,Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ate at la bruja everyday for lunch. Simply wonderful food and service. Three grilled lobster tails tacos arracharra and a couple of beers for under 200 pesos. One of the best deals on the island. Popular local eatery. A true taste of isla

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tschbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“July 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went on recommendation from MapChick, very disappointed. We ordered chicken enchiladas 70pesos. They (4 enchiladas!) were wrapped in flour tortilla. The verde sauce was very tart. Also ordered fish dinner 80pesos. The fish was overcooked & under seasoned. The rice & veggies were microwaved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vincebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bruja also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Bruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing