We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruiser Paraiso as well as Hotel”
Review of Marina Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Paraiso
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our second time at Marina Paraiso and we hope it won't be our last. We arrived on our sailboat "Scott Free" last year from Florida and stayed 6 weeks. This year we sailed up from Guatemala and will be here through March. The hotel looks even better this year with new landscaping and the pool has been pristine, which is good since we spend part of every day in it. The bar is cool and welcoming with lovely bartender Gabriella and the food very good. We had great ribs and rib eye steak at the Saturday BBQ and look forward to the paella for two today, Sunday. We checked out the rooms for possible guests and thought they were very comfortable and attractive. There us a large library in the lounge for all to use. This is the place to go if you want to meet interesting people as the boat owners come from all over the world and love meeting new people. It's a lot more fun than just a hotel! One negative point for some, it's a 10-15 minute walk from the center of town, but it's a lovely walk along the waterfront - and Soggy Peso and Bahia Tortuga are just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottFreeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Marina Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent two weeks there. Carlos and Tawny are great hosts make you feel at home. His saturday night ribs night is a must meet imported that same day. Gabriela the bartender is a sweetheart. The music is good and if your there on jam night it's awesome. The swimming pool is one of the best on the island. A nice laid back place away from downtown. enjoy. Michael

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I found Marina Paraiso a most enjoyable experience. As I am looking for authentic experiences that are tied to the culture of the places I travel: Marina Paraiso lived up to this expectation. All of the normal adages apply: staff is friendly, rooms are clean and organized appropriately, food is decent, ambiance is fantastic, family friendly (we traveled with our 6 month baby), etc...

If your looking for that USA experience, I would suggest Cancun. If your looking for a personal, laid-back, more closely aligned with the Mexican experience: I would highly recommend this resort.

Did a week of diving and found the waters to be plentiful of life and views: including baby trunk fish, free swimming golden tailed eels, ancient galleon anchors, current swept wrecks and schools of barracuda. Having logged over 1000 dives, I would recommend a week here for any diver.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms were incredibly convenient to the pool and the grounds. Safety was never a conce...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Marina Paraiso on our recent dive trip to Isla Mujeres. I did an extensive search of reviews of various places on the island - some were too fancy, some were too dumpy, and nearly none had their own dive operation. Marina Paraiso and their onsite dive operation - Paradise Divers - was exactly the type of thing we were looking for.

The hotel is very small; most of the people that stay here, hang out here, eat and drink here live on their boats/yachts which are docked at the marina. In fact I never even saw or heard any of the other tenants at the hotel. Currently the hotel is expanding and new rooms are being constructed. The sound did not bother us however since we were up by 8 to eat breakfast and gone most of the day on dives. The rooms were neat and clean, not too big but not tiny either. Plenty of closet and bathroom space and in our case a big comfy king bed. Linens were light and lovely. Had a great view from our little balcony of the pool and marina.

There is an outdoor bar and restaurant on site as well. Food was very tasty with a nice variety of options. I never thought I would crave pizza in Mexico, but the pizza is not to be missed! There are some delicious fish dishes as well. We had a meal package with our dives that provided us with breakfast and dinner as well, which was great. Breakfast was nothing fancy (bacon, eggs, toast, jam, juice and cofee), but we were not looking for anything fancy - just a quick bite to eat before we set out to dive for the morning.

We (and many of the local gringos and guests) spent most of our evenings at the outdoor palapa bar. A very welcoming and fun place every night! Drinks were reasonably priced, and the bar staff are very generous with our servings. It was always a great way to end a day of diving, having a few drinks, listening to music, and chatting with the local staff and guests. Everyone was extremely welcoming and friendly. The bar and restaurant staff even gave me a couple of amazing free drinks and a lovely dessert when they found out it was my birthday!

Marina Paraiso / Paradise Divers looks to be one of the only places on Isla where your dive operation is on-site. So convenient! On almost all occasions my husband and I were the only ones diving with Divemaster/Instructor Dick and his staff. Dick took the time to get to know us and our diving history, to make sure that we were diving within our skill set but still got to experience some new things. Wreck dives were an amazing new experience! We always felt very safe and well cared for on our dives by the entire staff, despite the fact that the weather did not always want to cooperate with us. It was wonderful to have a divemaster who listened to our requests and made sure to maximize our time and opportunities. And it doesn't hurt to have your dive boat 100 yards from your bed!!

Lastly I must thank Morna - who was so easy to work with via email to book our trip. Her correspondence was always prompt and she designed a vacation package for us on the fly to include our room, dives, two meals a day. She even coordinated transfers from Cancun Airport to the Ferry, and Dick picked us up and dropped us off from the ferry to the hotel! Morna had everything booked, scheduled, and squared away so that we had nothing to worry about. The timing of everything went off without a hitch, and it was so great to meet Morna and Dick after all the work they did getting us set up! I feel like we have made some great and permanent friends.

Apologies if this review is a bit much - just want to provide praise where praise is due. Thank you to everyone at Marina Paraiso for a relaxed, low-key, mellow, and fun vacation! We will be back to see you all again!

Room Tip: We liked the second floor rooms with balconies for a little added privacy and nice views - all balco...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been traveling to Isla twice a year for the last 24 years. Upon arrival there was nobody to check us in. It took 30 minutes to find someone, but that is typical for off beat hotels in Mexico. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and decided that that would be the last meal there. Rooms were average and as usual there was construction going on starting at 6:00 AM. Worst commodes on the Island. Locals seem to dominate the pool. Staff was friendly and helpful, if you could find them.
The bar was OK and the music was good. Upon arrival back in the states we did get an e-mail thanking us and telling us that there would be no charge for a small bar tab and the bad breakfast because of the commode problem. There are better places to stay for the money and I have stayed in worse.
Now with that being said, let's see if TripAdvisor has the guts to print this review.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gringo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
150810Frank, Owner at Marina Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations.
We purchased top of the line monobloc commodes for all of our bathrooms and , except for a previous broken lid we have not had prior complaints.
The construction work next door to further improve our property is now completed and I can only apologize for the inconvenience of the noise while you stayed with us.
The breakfast chef has been replaced following your review.
We just hope to see you again someday and thanks for taking the time to write your review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have visited almost every hotel and bar on Isla Mujeres, and Marina Paraiso Hotel is one of a kind. If you like a laid back atmosphere, while still receiving top amenities, this is your place. The rooms are amazing, and offer a great view. Gabi makes the best drinks on the Island, and completes everything wonderful about this hot spot.

Room Tip: I stayed in room # 6- 2nd floor, great view, bed, restrooms, and my favorite part the balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Marina Paraiso could not have provided a more pleasurable experience. If it's a relaxing atmosphere, top of the line service, and the best food in town that you're looking for, Marina Paraiso hits the spot on all of the above. Not to mention it's CHEAP! Great Tiki Bar by the Marina, look for Gabby and ask for the famous "Sally". Great all around experience, looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.4 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Paraiso

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 491, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $58 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the bay, Marina Paraiso Hotel on beautiful Isla Mujeres is less than a mile from the passenger ferry downtown. The only resort on Isla with a marina, a 22 room hotel, a licensed dive shop, Paradise Divers & a full service restaurant, Barlito. All rooms include A/C, wifi, satellite television, mini fridge, safe, patio or balcony, ceiling fan and daily maid service. Enjoy the views of the turquoise water from the infinity pool, the Club Islenos pool, the palapa bar or the deck dining. Marina Paraiso Hotel is truly paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing