We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooster saved the day.”
Review of Rooster Cafe

Rooster Cafe
Ranked #10 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Rooster saved the day.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

There is always a steady flow of guests at Rooster - regulars and newbies alike - enjoying their visits, and it is evident everyone really loves this place. In addition to the genuine friendliness of all of the Rooster staff, immaculate interior and exterior, and welcoming venue with air conditioning and comfortable chairs, the food is delicious. Some of my favorites:

- Rooster Tea (fruit and spice flavors over ice)
- Mango Smoothie (blended perfectly)
- Brie and Apple Salad (honey mustard dressing with sliced almonds)
- Rooster Muffin (apples, walnuts, carrots, etc.)
- Banana Bread (one slice is an entire meal)

And leave it up to Rooster to save the day. As if consistently delicious breakfasts, lunches and treats weren't enough, this trip I ran into challenges with wi-fi connectivity in my hotel and I needed to get some work done pretty urgently. Sergio and Luis were kind enough to let me take over a corner of the restaurant to work for hours on my laptop. This was so much appreciated and they really made my day. It's yet another reason why I keep coming back to Rooster, trip after trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    285
    72
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Get your coffee and breakfast HERE”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to Isla Mujeres several times and have tried breakfast and coffee all over, but found The Rooster yesterday and this place is absolutely awesome. What drew me in was seeing someone with a french press at their table. I'm a coffee freak (not cappuccinos and lattes, but regular coffee) and regular coffee is hard to find in Mexico. Here it is and it is good. I complemented the owner on the coffee and he showed me the whole bean bag he uses. Whole bean, nice! $45 pesos for a french press that fills two mugs. If you've never used a french press, don't forget to let it sit for about 5-6 minutes before pouring.

Now on to the breakfast. Eggs Benedict around 10-12 different ways is the highlight of this breakfast. I ordered the Hash Brown Benedict.....eggs over easy on top of a plate of hash browns, covered in hollandaise sauce with a side of 4 oz steak. This awesome plate is $100 pesos. It was so good i ordered it the next day, but upon looking at some of the other plates, saw they have a pumpkin hollandaise sauce also and ordered that on top of it. Wow, they should add that option on the menu.

Both of these plus tip are around $160 pesos, pricey for going everyday, but it will be hard not to!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mortal888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
382 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“RIGHT UP THERE”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After an occasional "spotty" meal - previous dinners were always outstanding (and now Rooster is only open for breakfast and lunch) - and I'm mostly talking about breakfast and/or lunch, I'm happy to report I take it back. After a couple of recent (last week) breakfasts, I'm happy to report breakfast (or lunch) at Rooster is OUTSTANDING!

Way to go Sergio! (who has remained a terrifically great guy).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooster Cafe was our first breakfast restaurant on Isla, and what a great choice! Food was delicious , well seasoned and great portions. Service was perfect - kind and attentive and price was just right. Bonus for freshly baked bread and awesome banana smoothie. Must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a very good breakfast here. Even the home fries were very good and I usually don't like those. My girlfriend had biscuits and gravy and it was much better than most places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bull577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing