We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Rooster!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooster Cafe

Rooster Cafe
Ranked #10 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the Rooster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think we ate here 3 times on our last trip to Isla. The service is very friendly and prompt. The coffee, blueberry muffin, the eggs - all very good. It is located so conveniently to Nautibeach and is so inviting. I believe they open for dinner during high season. You won't be disappointed - stellar!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank workfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    275
    69
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooster was our favourite restaurant in Isla Mujeres and we came back twice for brunch. If you are looking for a big delicious breakfast then this is your place. The eggs benedict was amazing, and the smoothies were huge and so good! I could have quite easily worked my way through the menu if we'd had a longer stay.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We ate at the Rooster right before we had to catch the ferry to leave the island. It was great-it was relaxing-and it was memorable!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2shop4kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

While we've traveled to Isla before, this was the first trip we visited Rooster Cafe (went for breakfast one day and lunch another day). For breakfast, the Carrot/Cinnamon/Raisin/Walnut muffin was so delicious along with the iced Jasmine Tea (similar to a cold chai tea flavor). For lunch, we had salads - the Brie/Apple/Almond salad and the "fish cake" salad both were nice. The venue itself is very comfortable and clean. There is free wifi and if you'd like to sit inside, it's well air conditioned. The young man who generally works there speaks English and Spanish both fluently and he is very nice, fun and polite. The lunch salads took somewhat of a long time to prepare (I believe they make all of the fresh items at the time of order, so it does take them extra time to boil eggs, for example). We haven't quite figured out the hours of operation for this little cafe - I think it varies by day, so definitely check it out when it's open because if you come back later, it may be closed for a few hours even if its posted hours say it's open. I think that's part of its charm though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
483 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Best breakfast we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great little place. The service was excellent, and the food was gourmet. Who would have thought that! The Huevo Ranchero's had such a great intense sauce like no other on the mainland, and the eggs Benedict had the perfect hollandaise sauce and perfectly poached eggs...I can't wait to go back this week with our friends. Thank you for making our day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing