We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price and location”
Review of Hotel Kinich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kinich
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in February of 2010 - we had a change in our travel plans and needed to find a place to stay in a hurry and got a really great price at the Hotel Kinich. It is a relatively new place on the island and was recommended to us by our friends' hotel owners. The pros: great location (close enough to the action but on a side street); great balcony that looks over Juarez (a great place to enjoy evening cocktails and morning coffee); the bathroom - lots of counter space - nice, new shower with good (for Isla) water pressure; the bed was pretty comfortable and the bedding pretty soft; mini-fridge; good closet space; very clean. The cons: the hallway is made of marble, which makes it very loud - you can hear all of your neighbors' comings and goings; there was an unusual smell - not terrible, but not great - but very present.

Also,this hotel is right around the corner from Om, a reggae bar that has live music often, and you can hear the music quite well from the rooms. We enjoyed the music and didn't find that it was a con - but if people are light sleepers (or don't enjoy reggae), they may not like this hotel. I think that there are rooms in the back of the hotel that would probably be quieter.

Overall, we liked this hotel - it was a great pick for spending a few extra nights on the island, and it couldn't be beat for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leeannpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have stayed on Isla Mujares for five years for a month each time. This year we had to move from our regular hotel because of mold and a friend of ours, Felipe, the owner of Sunset Grill suggested Hotel Kinich to us. The owner was a friend of his. We looked at the rooms and immediately moved there. The maids are wonderful and the rooms are so restful, including the private patio. My brother and his wife moved there with us right next door. We had wonderful clean linens on our bed every other day which is so great and never happened before. Thanks to the wonderful staff and owners of the Hotel we had a wonderful vacation there. I tried to do a recommendation earlier in the year but it was not listed yet as it was still new but I did tell trip advisor about it. I am so glad it is mentioned now.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chrip55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We decided to spend the evening in Isla Mujeres and were looking for a place to stay. From the outside it doesn't look that impressive, but the inside is totally impressive. The secluded patio was a wonderful place to rest and relax and the room was very modern. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank GinevraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gibran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conocedorChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinich

Address: Ave Benito Juarez Mza 3, No 20, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $72 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kinich 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kinich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing