We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop by for the scene and the Fish Tacos Al Pastor”

Zama Yacht & Beach and Lounge
Ranked #44 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Franconia, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stop by for the scene and the Fish Tacos Al Pastor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped here on a golf cart tour of the island. We blew by it the first time because the lettering on the sign is a little small. Was a very pleasant scene there and they have Negra Modelo ON TAP which I haven't seen anywhere else on the island. Bartenders were very attentive (I've actually noticed that the service on the island in general has gone way up in the past several years). I'm a big fan Tacos Al Pastor. They had a fish taco version of this which I couldn't imagine trying because I didn't believe you could slow cook the fish the same way you do the pork for regular Al Pastor...however, the bartender convinced me they just used the same spices (along with diced pineapple) and it was great. I'm more of a playa norte guy so we couldn't stay on the bay side but it looked like a good place if you had kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigMo_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    105
    53
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travel to Isla Mujeres every three years or so, and we always include a day trip to Zama to eat, drink and play in their pools. This year there were 17 of us and we took golf carts from our hotel in downtown Isla for lunch and a few hours of relaxing. (we ate club sandwiches, french fries and ceviche) It's clean, beautiful, service is wonderful and really one of our favorite activities. We had kids as young as 6 but brought them when they were infants because the pools are many different sizes. Prices are higher but not by much, you'll find it's money well spent. We highly recommend visiting!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the whole experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Our experience here was very good the service was friendly and timely also the food was excellent. We told friends to visit the restaurant well they are in Mexico as well. We recommend this restaurant Beach Club. Toastadas yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDeluxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet...but can be pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I were tired of the windy days on North Beach and decided to venture to the East side of the island (that faces Cancun) on Friday, March 15, 2013. We decided on hanging out at Zama Beach Club.

To our surprise, they rent the beach chairs for $100 pesos each (above and beyond the cost of food and drink). On a good note, they were the first establishment on this trip to Isla Mujeres that we found carried Montejo beer (a light, Yucatan beer)...and it was very cold! Probably the coldest beer we'd had on isla thus far. Their chips and salsa were also very good. I ordered a Mojito, which the waiter forgot about. I reminded him about it and he apologized but it took another reminder before he actually asked the bartender for it. Anyway, I finally got to enjoy it about an hour and 15 minutes after I initially ordered it...and it tasted great. Stuck to beer after that since they never had a problem bringing that by quickly.

One of the things we noticed is that several fishing boats, yachts and catamarans use Zama beach for pit stops...which is ok but they have exclusive seating by the restaurant for these folks....which includes better beds/chairs and undivided attention from the staff.

The pools were very nice and refreshing...especially since the beach area had alot of sea grass and was more suited for kayaking than actually swimming. Thier bathrooms and showers were very clean, in good repair and had a modern design to them.

Overall, the peace and quiet we were able to enjoy while there (not alot of kids swimming and splashing around) and the very clean and updated amenities totally outweighed the cost. Roundtrip taxi fare (about $15 US dollars), rent of 2 chairs ($20 US dollars), plus the beers and appetizers ($45 US dollars including tip).

Will only return if we are staying on the wayward side of the island on our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ate lunch that was okay and pricey. Pool and beach area was nice. Staff never came up to us at the pool and asked if we wanted anything.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllynVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zama Yacht & Beach and Lounge also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Zama Yacht & Beach and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing