We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Hidalgo - CLOSED

Cafe Hidalgo
Cuisines: Cafe, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Piedmont NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited Isla Mujeres in July and ate here for breakfast. The breakfast was phenomenal. I started my meal with coffee (brewed espresso with hot water to add) and fresh fruit. The presentation of the fruit was so pretty I took a picture - from passion fruit to mangos to bananas, all was ripe and amazingly good. We also ordered creeps - my husband ordered ham and cheese and I ordered honey walnut. The ham and cheese was very good; the honey walnut was delicious! Flaky and sweet and filled with fresh walnuts. Presentation of the food is also impressive. We will eat here again, maybe even for dessert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dwhite1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    25
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent coffee and friendly service. Here for breakfast. Delicious crepes - we both had ham and cheese but I also said yes to the vegetables - whoa - it was like a huge salad surrounding my crepes - a little too much to eat but so pretty. This place is often closed for vacation when we're here so we felt lucky to finally get in a visit. We'll be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank workfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best crepe in Isla mujeres!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate a crepe with Nutella and banana-wow!!! It was amazing! She puts a lot of Nutella and fruits!
We tasted crepe from 4 different places and by far Caffe Hidalgo serves the bast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fresh and delicious, the crepes are sooo good, cute little eclectic place, could go eat there every day if I could, friendly staff, small locally own place as most of the places in isla. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariacjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“favorite new place to eat in isla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

i just returned from isla mujeras, and found this place. i ordered a nutella, mango, almond crepe; and it was great beyond description. the sweet italian lady made a rose from the mangos...the mangos were sweeter than candy...i stopped in 3 more times for breakfast which included a spinach and mushroom omelet, and prior to this being brought out i ate carrot sticks, cucumber slices and small tomato's with a olive oil/parsley dip; as well as italian garlic bread...excellent...when the omelet came out half the plate was covered in fruit....i went back that evening, and the next morning for a mango, banana, peanut butter smoothie that was excellent...i would recommend this place to anyone traveling. the smoothies were 40 pesos, and the huge breakfast was 60 pesos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hidalgo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing