We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Isla Dining Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Hidalgo - CLOSED

Cafe Hidalgo
Cuisines: Cafe, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Isla Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We ate here on our recent stay on Isla. We went around lunch time and my wife and I both had crepes. They were very good, but a little on the thick side compared to a traditional crepe. Service was painfully slow, but it is Mexico. Decent prices and a nice dining atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    25
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Freshest food made with love by a food artist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a week on Isla and ate here 4 times. All the food is so fresh and each plate is a work of art. We thoroughly enjoyed the crepes, fresh fruit, omelets, veggies, frappes, and fruit juices. The prices are very reasonable and the service is delightful. Highly recommended and one of my favorites. Usually open 8:30 am to 10 pm, closed on Mondays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jetskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Your wife will love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

After my wife had her first crepes it was impossible to tell what she loved more. Me or Cafe Hidalgo? I never gave her a chance to decide for we only went there once but she is in love and is still talking about the experience. The coffee was a stand out!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphyt741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great sandwiches! AWESOME CREPES! Fruit smoothies are a must! Love the vege platter! This is a great place to stop and have a coffee and a crepe, or a smoothie and sandwich for lunch. Everything is super fresh and homemade! It does take a little while to eat here because everything is so fresh so if you are in a hurry do not go. It is vacation though so personally I thought it was lovely. Sitting on hidalgo street watching everyone walk by is also very nice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most amazing crêpes ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We've been in Isla Mujeres for 3 nights and we went to Cafe Hidalgo 3 times :-)
Their crepes are amazing! Really good and with great presentation! Coffee is good and fruit shakes are excellent as well. The only 'downside' is the wait. Sometimes you will wait 20 minutes for coffee/crepe/juice but it's worth it, trust me!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pabax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hidalgo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing