We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long time favorite!!!!!”
Review of Fredy's

Fredy's
Ranked #64 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“long time favorite!!!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have eaten at Fredy's for many years. AS Isla becomes becomes more upscale, Fredy sticks to really fresh products-no frozen fish. If it isn't caught that day it isn't on the menu. Generous margueritas. At the end of a noisy street, yet life abounds. Consistently real. Fredy's family is about and part of the atmosphere. This is real Isla; not import fusion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    49
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oven baked shrimp”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went here on the advice of another trip advisor in search of some good shrimp. I got the Oven Baked Shrimp and it was delicious! But don't let the term "baked" make you think you are going a healthy route-there is all kinds of fatty goodness in there. Prices were a little bit high to be comepletely honest but I was happy with the meal and would go back nonetheless.

Highlight of my evening was Fredy chasing a cat yelling about how tomorrow he'd cook us all chinese.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We always eat here at least once while on the Island, the food is great. My husband always orders the Pork Chops and I get grouper with a green sauce. Fredy is a great host and makes a great Marg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not so great anymore”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to Fredy's for years. Maybe I caught him on an off night but it was not what I remembered. Still worth a visit but not amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieLeigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pork chop freddy”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

very good food and great company the pork chops are thick and tender freddy is always a joy to goof around with

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mex2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredy's also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Fredy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing