We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with a great view!”
Review of Hotel La Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Joya
Ranked #3 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A nice place. At first, I was surprised to find this on TA under B&B instead of Hotels, but after staying 2 nights I can see why. If you are expecting a standard hotel, with entry on the first level and elevators, this is not the place. But the rooms are nice and hotel-like, with a couple double beds, chairs/table, fridge, and a fine bathroom (though not much water pressure). Each room has a deck with a gorgeous view looking toward Cancun, and a hammock. La Joya is built into a rocky hill, so you will need to take outside stairs to most every room, but if you don't mind that, it's a great place. The couple running the place seem very nice and accommodating Breakfast is brought to your room each morning at the time you specify: toast with butter and jam to spread, excellent orange juice, and coffee.

Pool is fine, nice view. The free wifi worked well.

We stayed in room 8, adjacent to room 7. Given the choice between the two, 7 appears to have the better view, as 8 is right in front of the pool hut, but still a fine view. (see pictures)

This is located a bit outside the main town, and not much within walking distance. We had rented a car, so it was fine for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, adjacent to room 7. Given the choice between the two, 7 appears to have the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 351 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel La Joya is a very quiet and private place to be to enjoy a peaceful vacation.
The private ocean beach is a rough beach so wear your water shoes but the privacy and the ocean view is unsurpassable. 2 kayaks are avaiable for the adventerous spirit. The white caps are huge so you will be guaranteed a workout ! It was hot hot hot so cooling down in the pool was a blessing.
The staff were beyond amazing. Efficent, eager to please and very unobtrusive. The only complaint I have is that after 6 days the same breakfast which consisted of 6 slices of soggy toast, warm freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee became very unappealing and boring. The hotel menu is also somewhat limiting so we bought fresh fruit and yogurt at the local supermrket to change things up.Drinking water was avaiable in the office and in a cooler outside but it was warm as refrigiration is costly. We stayed in room 6 which has a small front yard and lying in bed we had a great view of the ocean and cancun in the distance. Downtown you can rent golf carts to get around which is quite costly, $60.00 per day but we found taking a taxi was cheaper and safer as the roads are congested with golf carts and scooters. As well you help support local families. Isla Mujeres is a beautiful island but the activities are limited if you do not want to spend alot of money on tourisit attractions. We were glad we brought a deck of cards to entertan ourselves. lol . A wonderful place to hide away in.

Room Tip: Room number 6 was by far the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We wanted a quiet place to unwind from city life and snorkel. Eric and Paula have just started managing this hotel but still did a remarkable job. When we checked in we were asked when we wanted breakfast and they were usually very good about bringing it on time but who cares? You're on vacation so the coffee, the large glass of fresh squeezed orange juice and toast with butter and jam all laid out with linen napkins is delightful. During the day very few people stick around so we practically had the place to ourselves. Just 10-20 yards off the private beach was some amazing snorkeling. The chef in La Joya made some great food but if you want more it is only a 10-15 minute walk to Acontilado (restaurant at end of island) or to Los Rancheros (other direction) so you don't even have to have a vehicle. One day something went wrong with the water pressure but it was fixed fast and otherwise things ran smoothly. There are tiny fridges in each room but you can use the community kitchen if you choose to cook your own food. It has dishes, utensils, pots and pans but bring salt/pepper/oil, etc. We loved this place! We've been married 34 years and this was our best vacation ever! We want to return.

Room Tip: We were in #2 with a 180 degree view of the ocean - amazing! Unfortunately, it was also the favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

WOW! I just got back from a beautiful vacation with my family to Isla Mujeres, Mexico. We stayed at Hotel La Joya. A few words that come to mind when describing La Joya- Unique, Charming, and One-of-a-Kind. My wife and I discovered this gem a year ago when we took a day trip over to the island from Cancun. We agreed that our next Mexico trip we would come over to this laid-back little island of Isla Mujeres and stay at Hotel La Joya.

The Hotel is location on the southern end of the island away from the more populated downtown/porte area of the North. I recommend renting a golf cart once you arrive to the island by ferry. There are many places close to the porte to rent a golf cart, which the going rate is $50 a day.

I take my hat-off to Erik the hotel manager and his staff for going the extra yard in making our stay so special! On one occasion, he made arrangements with Chef Juan to grill-up our "catch" from our deep sea fishing trip. Much to my surprise, we came back to the hotel with 40+ lbs. of Tuna, Wahoo, and Mackerel. Juan ended up grilling fish steaks out on the grill next to the pool for everybody at the hotel that wanted to join us. Wow, what a experience! The staff makes you feel welcome and part of their family.

One day we wanted to stay and relax at the hotel. We took the cart to Chedraui the grocery store to buy beer, margaritas in a can, and snacks. We loaded up a styrofoam cooler and headed down the hotel steps to their little private beach. The hotel has kayaks at your disposal, but don't forget the lifejacket! There's a nice coral reef close to the shore that stretches south a ways where you can find a variety of beautiful fish. I do recommend that you buy water shoes before your trip to protect your feet from rocks, sea urchins, and broken glass along the beach.

If you are looking for a different experience other than your typical 4 to 5-star all-inclusive sit on the beach and do nothing resort, this is the spot for you. We have stayed at many fancy resorts in the past, but in my opinion La Joya rates right up there at the top and will always have a special place in my heart! The island is very safe and the people there go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I can't wait to go back.................

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinR184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I think that this must have been the most beautiful place on Isla. The hotel is built up a slope (hence the many steps that others have mentioned) with the pool and balconies looking out over the beautiful sea. The hotel has access to a small cove, but I didn't swim there as there were quite a few sea urchins. A couple of minutes walk to the right of the hotel is a beach where you can rent sunbeds, swim, snorkel etc and we opted for that instead. Being able to fill up water bottles from the large dispensers was a bonus.

Breakfast on the balcony was lovely, but we could never quite work out how to order it (one day we went to ask for it, the next it turned up unprompted via the bathroom door while my friend was in the shower!). The only things that slightly let the hotel down are the lack of privacy: most balconies are shared; being a small hotel if a group has a few rooms there were frequent conversations yelled from pool to balcony and across the hotel generally; and the extremely poor water pressure meaning it was difficult to even shower the sand off your body. Overall though, a lovely place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Manager Erik, his family and his staff really made our stay a memory for life. The hotel is a real oasis on the south part of the island. It is a bit from town, but with a golfcar you can easily go anywere on the island. La Joya helps you to rent it and get it to the hotel.
We have never stayed at a hotel where the staff gives so much of them selves to please the guests. On the day when we went deepfishing, the staff aranged a barbeque with our catch for us.
All in all this hotel is a lovely place on Isla and we will defenetly come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielGradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister, two nieces and I spent thirteen days on Isla in March. We spent our time at Hotel La Joya. I have been traveling to Isla Mujeres for over twenty years. For the most part, I have stayed "in town." I am so glad that we ventured to the south side of the island. The hotel was great, the views were amazing! It was an incredibly laid back experience that I am quite sure we will repeat! It is a good idea to have a golf cart of scooters, it's nice to be able to go anywhere you want on a whim!
Isla has certainly gone through some crazy changes, but, I still return. There's just something about that place that puts everything else in life in perspective.
Check out La Joya, if you are looking for some peach and quiet, you have found the right place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. There are steps to climb, absolutely manageable and inescapable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juleymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's Kan-kin
Maria's Kan-kin
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Joya

Address: Carretera al Garrafon Km. 5 | Punta Sur, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $131 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Joya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is the perfect place to escape from the world. We have 12 rooms all with spectacular views of the crystal clear blue waters that lie just steps below the hotel leading to our secluded beach. Each room is uniquely decorated and has a private terrace with a hammock where you can waste the afternoon away. Take advantage of our free breakfast and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing