We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
276
87
25
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
87
25
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall beachsea urchinsgolf cartround roomrocking chairsfamily roomprivate terracepunta surlove hotelsouth endquiet endevery morningsnorkel gearnice breakfastinfinity poolcontinental breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 399 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are almost three weeks into our four week vacation staying at La Joya.We can only echo what others have said about the beauty,tranquility and service of this wonderful hotel.
What has surprised us is the restaurant. Chef Juan and host Alex serve some of the best food and drinks (best mojito!)that we have had so far on Isla. Whether it is omelettes for breakfast or their delicious hamburgers and (best) fries,ceviche,dinners with tequila shrimp or Arrachera steak,all of the meals have been so very good.
Its only a short ride from town or if you are touring an easy stop for a meal.
We highly recommend La Joya restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodsman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We just spent 5 glorious days at Hotel La Joya. We were met by Honario and his wife Eres ( I probably spelled it wrong) Plain simple room, with a deck, two chairs, a table and a hammock. Every room has this. Clean, king size bed AND a tiny continental breakfast (Toast.coffee, juice and jam) delivered to your room every morning.

There is a private infinity pool and a small set of interesting old stone stairs that go down to the tiny private beach.

This is in the south point of the island. No activity near by. You need to take a cab to go out or rent a golf cart for the day or more. Honario will order one for you and they will deliver it to the hotel and then also fill it up for you every morning.

There is a new resturant at the hotel and Alex is the chatty new waiter from Cancun. The guacamole is to die for and there are plenty of cold cervezas on hand.

Very quiet place, until on the last day a large group of couples came..but we were leaving. I was sure to mention to them that it is a very quiet tranquile place..I would go back in a heart beat,...fridges in the room so you can go to the grocery store 2 km away get bread, cheese, fruit and snacks if you like.

Free internet in room and around pool too...who ever owns this place...well done...love it.. I have tons of photos...

Room Tip: They all are great, they all views of the ocean and pool..
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vsbyvsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in January 2012 and could not fault this hotel! We had room 1 which was pretty much brand new with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. The breakfast delivered to our balcony every morning was great as you aren't restricted to a time frame like a buffet. The sunsets from this hotel are amazing - we also loved the tiny private beach with the jetties to swim off. I would recommend staying here for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: room 1 was fantastic with no rooms above or below
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilbee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place is a must for anyone absolutely amazing & perfect in everyway from the staff to he rooms to the location nearly at a loss for words best hotel we have ever stayed in and the price makes it nearly unbelieveable MITCH & SHELLEY ST AUG FL

Room Tip: room 1 or 11 most secluded
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdnsvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We arrived from the Isla car ferry with ease and were greated with such simpleness that suited our style perfectly. We barely saw the owner/manager during our 2 day stay and whenever we needed assistance, it was super easy to find a person to help. The view is incredible, the location at the far end of the isla was perfect for us, we had a car to go in town and when we came back to the hotel, it was perfect peace and quiet. Our balcony with outside table and chairs became the main area throughout. We spent some time beside the water, swam a bit in the pool and did a lot of sightseeing on the island. I have nothing bad to say about the place, it was well worth our investment and I recommend it to anyone , anytime. They were doing some ongoing renovations, I think they were adding an addition, along with fresh paint, gates and what not that really showed a keen interest and pride of ownership.At no time did the work related bothered our tranquility and every worker we encoutered were extremely respectfull of our presence. We only had breakfast there so we can't really comment on the kitchen but it felt personal, clean and profesional. A water fountain was accessible at all times and we had no mosquito or bug issue to talk about. All around a great stay, the Isla is also great, if you are reading this in consideration to come..then just go...you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2, the king size bed was fairly hard, but we like that, so it was in a good way. The rooms with the lower value are on top of the hill at the parking level and as you increase in numbers , you're descending towards the pool. We preferred the elevated view for the beauty of it and the ease to bring in luggage....if we go back, we'll try and stay at the same room, that's how much we liked it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews