We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
276
87
25
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
87
25
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall beachsea urchinsgolf cartround roomrocking chairsfamily roomprivate terracepunta surlove hotelsouth endquiet endevery morningsnorkel gearnice breakfastinfinity poolcontinental breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 399 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

One amazing night before meeting the girls for a 50th celebration. Met an amazing group of people, enjoyed owners charm, clean room, fantastic view!!!! Will be back!

Room Tip: Rolandis delivers and food is amazing; enjoy by the pool or your balcony!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A beautiful hotel staggered up the cliffside from its own small sandy beach, via the pool, to rooms all of which have sea view and large individual terraces. Best if your bags are not too heavy, however, to negotiate the steps down to the rooms and back again. Large clean rooms, simple breakfast with self-catering kitchen facilities. Quiet location near the south of the island – a welcome refuge from the town, but it’s useful to have a car to get around.
Looking at the development at the north end of the island, I would definitely choose La Joya again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

La Joya is a charming, beautiful, quiet place to stay. We really couldn't have been happier. From the front, it doesn't look like much and is situated back from the main road, but the inside is gorgeous! We stayed in room number 1 at the top of the property.The hotel is situated on many levels with stairs in between, so if you are not comfortable with lots of stairs this place is not for you. I liked the way it was set up...felt like we had our own little area. The hotel is primarily run by a husband/wife team. They have a door bell at the bottom of the stairs into their primary residence (they live on the property), if you need anything. They were always quick to respond and friendly. We only had minor issues communicating - I am working on my Spanish. :-) They have a community kitchen for the guests that is really pretty complete and a large dining room with tables and chairs. The hotel offers a continental breakfast of toast, juice and coffee delivered to your balcony. We would briefly leave our rooms and come home to a cleaned room with fresh towels. The balconies are huge (some appear to share with the neighbor), ours was private. They have a hammock, 2 Adirondack chairs and a table with chairs. All balconies have great panoramic views of the ocean. The pool is on the small side - but we were really the only people in it, so it was perfect. It also has a stunning view of the ocean (infinity edge) and a shallow part for just lounging. There is green grass everywhere and plenty of lounge chairs. The beach is smaller, but very private (enclosed by several large rocks). It is shallow, but grassy with some sea urchins. Bring water shoes or flippers. :-) We saw all kinds of cool fish using our own snorkel gear (they sell it at the hotel along with biodegradable sunscreen, but for a price). They also have a kayak and life jackets to use for free. We had lots of fun with these!

Room Tip: We only saw room number 1, but it was very charming. Lots of neat detail and brickwork.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingHaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We loved the look and feel of this place. Nothing real special about the rooms and I was allergic to the laundry detergent on sheets and towels, but we loved our stay here. The room was large and we had a small refrigerator and a TV (we never turned it on). We were in one of the top two rooms (they go down the hill to the pool and then there is another set of stairs to a small beach). The pool is lovely. Our balcony was completely charming and relaxing. The place feels very European. It is a bit isolated and you will need a golf cart or take taxis (relatively cheap and very easy) to get into Centro. Walking distance to Punta Sur, Garrafon Park and Beach Club, and El Pueblito restaurant. We were glad that we spent 3 nights in Centro first, and then spent 3 nights at La Joya. Good service and there is a neat dining room with a computer you can use, and a kitchen. Drinking water is available to fill up bottles.

Room Tip: I liked the room at the top
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkelerNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We (me and my 17 yrs old son) spent over a week at La Joya. We were looking for a quiet and calm place to relax. We were not dissapointed. The place is beautiful, the view is spectacular and the couple in charge of everything make you feel at home. The hotel is not close to the small town but it is quite easy to find a taxi to get to different places and it is also quite fun to rent a moped and explore the surroundings. Punta Sur is at a wlking distance and is one of the most beautiful places in the island. Dont't miss the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful vacation there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews