We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
276
87
25
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
87
25
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall beachsea urchinsgolf cartround roomrocking chairsfamily roomprivate terracepunta surlove hotelsouth endquiet endevery morningsnorkel gearnice breakfastinfinity poolcontinental breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 399 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

La Joya is a charming, beautiful, quiet place to stay. We really couldn't have been happier. From the front, it doesn't look like much and is situated back from the main road, but the inside is gorgeous! We stayed in room number 1 at the top of the property.The hotel is situated on many levels with stairs in between, so if you are not comfortable with lots of stairs this place is not for you. I liked the way it was set up...felt like we had our own little area. The hotel is primarily run by a husband/wife team. They have a door bell at the bottom of the stairs into their primary residence (they live on the property), if you need anything. They were always quick to respond and friendly. We only had minor issues communicating - I am working on my Spanish. :-) They have a community kitchen for the guests that is really pretty complete and a large dining room with tables and chairs. The hotel offers a continental breakfast of toast, juice and coffee delivered to your balcony. We would briefly leave our rooms and come home to a cleaned room with fresh towels. The balconies are huge (some appear to share with the neighbor), ours was private. They have a hammock, 2 Adirondack chairs and a table with chairs. All balconies have great panoramic views of the ocean. The pool is on the small side - but we were really the only people in it, so it was perfect. It also has a stunning view of the ocean (infinity edge) and a shallow part for just lounging. There is green grass everywhere and plenty of lounge chairs. The beach is smaller, but very private (enclosed by several large rocks). It is shallow, but grassy with some sea urchins. Bring water shoes or flippers. :-) We saw all kinds of cool fish using our own snorkel gear (they sell it at the hotel along with biodegradable sunscreen, but for a price). They also have a kayak and life jackets to use for free. We had lots of fun with these!

Room Tip: We only saw room number 1, but it was very charming. Lots of neat detail and brickwork.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingHaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We loved the look and feel of this place. Nothing real special about the rooms and I was allergic to the laundry detergent on sheets and towels, but we loved our stay here. The room was large and we had a small refrigerator and a TV (we never turned it on). We were in one of the top two rooms (they go down the hill to the pool and then there is another set of stairs to a small beach). The pool is lovely. Our balcony was completely charming and relaxing. The place feels very European. It is a bit isolated and you will need a golf cart or take taxis (relatively cheap and very easy) to get into Centro. Walking distance to Punta Sur, Garrafon Park and Beach Club, and El Pueblito restaurant. We were glad that we spent 3 nights in Centro first, and then spent 3 nights at La Joya. Good service and there is a neat dining room with a computer you can use, and a kitchen. Drinking water is available to fill up bottles.

Room Tip: I liked the room at the top
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkelerNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We (me and my 17 yrs old son) spent over a week at La Joya. We were looking for a quiet and calm place to relax. We were not dissapointed. The place is beautiful, the view is spectacular and the couple in charge of everything make you feel at home. The hotel is not close to the small town but it is quite easy to find a taxi to get to different places and it is also quite fun to rent a moped and explore the surroundings. Punta Sur is at a wlking distance and is one of the most beautiful places in the island. Dont't miss the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful vacation there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was my first trip to the Mexican Caribbean. We stayed 9 nights in Playa Del Carmen, 3 dreaded nights in Cancun, and 2 nights at this hotel. The best experience by far was La Joya (La Hoy-Ya)! Our particular room (#11), was just opened and we were the very first people to stay in it. The room was appointed so perfectly, I felt like I was staying at an exclusive 5 star resort! We only paid $85 per night, but I would have paid double that for sure! The view from our very comfortable bed every morning, overlooking the caribbean sea and cancun was just to die for! We slept like babies which is exactly what we needed.

Amenities: sitting area in room, King size bed, oversized marble bathroom with HUGE shower, closet, huge patio with sitting area and hammock overlooking the sea. The hotel had a nice size pool and steps down to the beach where there are kayaks which I believe are free to use. There is also a kitchen area in the hotel which guests are free to use if they don't want to go into town and eat out. There is a computer in the kitchen area for guests which is free of charge as well. The caretakers will help you with just about anything so don't be afraid to ask!

Location: PERFECT! on the South side of the island. It's about a 5 minute walk to the other side and just a few steps to the beach infront of the hotel. It's outside of the main town which makes it very quiet. A taxi will only cost you $5USD or $60pesos so this is not a problem. You can also rent a motorbike or golf cart for around $26USD-$35USD per night, but you don't really need it because taxis are so cheap. This hotel is also very close to the turtle farm and an old mayan ruin at the tip of the island.

Dining: You will mostly need to go into town for this, but again, being only $5 taxi ride is not an issue. Many places to eat, but I have to recommend "el patio" (I think), it's on the main strip and you have to walk inside to see the full restaurant. It's a caribe stile barbeque and OH MY GOSH the best food I had on the trip! The restaurant has a sand floor and live music, covered by a canopy of lush trees. You have to check it out!

If you want to unwind on your vacation and not deal with the tourist trap that is cancun (ugh), go to Isla Mujeres and stay at La Joya! You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlMarMil33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stay at La Joya every year and we are never disapointed. Carlos takes such good care of all of his guests and is such a sweetheart! The best part about La Joya is that it is on the other side of the island away from the crowded tourist part where the ferries arrive. We always stay in a different room when we go. The place could use a new paint job but there is nothing like wasting away the afternoon on that hammock. Can't wait until October 2011!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFaizakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews