We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizzas”
Review of Angelo

Angelo
Ranked #67 of 210 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizzas”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a week of eating wonderful Mexican food, I needed a break and was very hungry for Italian. Angelo was perfect! First they brought us brick oven bread with oil to share while dinner was being cooked. My husband went with pepperoni pizza and I got their Mediterranean pasta which had diced tomatoes, onions, black olives, basil, and oil in a light tomato sauce. Both were so good! I could eat their pizza everyday. The pasta was the best I've had so far on Isla. I also love how friendly the servers are at Angelo. They make it an even better experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasElyse2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    101
    31
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“July 2013”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been here several times and seem to always order pizza. And it is always excellent! The Volcano pizza w/ blue cheese & pepperoni (140pesos), Margeherita pizza are always on our list. With a bottle of wine (240pesos).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vincebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I couldn't seem to make it the entire week without getting some pasta. I was a little unsure about getting Italian food while on the island but I was quite happy I did. The service was good the pasta was delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the Seafood Fiesta!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Angelo's is a great restaurant on the busy nighttime pedestrian street. Our family of four had a pasta and pizza (which my son, who is very picky) loved. My teenage daughter and I split the seafood fiesta and it was more than enough for us! Everything in charcoal grilled and the platter is giant! It's filled with shrimp, two lobster tails, incredibly tender squid and half of a red snapper (or whatever fish is in season)! All this included grilled vegetables and garlic bread. It was awesome! The atmosphere is really nice, and you can sit outside. Definitely the best meal we had on the island!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Home-made Italian Food in Mexico!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I don't know what it is about great Italian cuisine in Mexico, but this place really hit the spot. Located along a street closed to vehicular traffic, Angelo is a great place to sit and people watch while you wait for a fresh, brick-oven-baked pizza or a steak from the charcoal grill cooked to perfection in the open air kitchen.

The pizzas are BIG, so two of you can easily share one along with an appetizer or salad and you'll be set. Any of their pasta dishes can be made with one of a selection of pastas (linguine, penne, etc.). The flat bread they give you straight from the oven as an appetizer is delicious!

We really enjoyed our meal here. They can accommodate large groups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blauvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing