We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great diversion!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Joint

The Joint
Ranked #33 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great diversion!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The Joint was a fun pit stop while carting around the island. Can't beat the 4 beers and guac for 100pesos. Live music made it all the better. It's set off among the trees so it can get a bit buggy....luckily there is a bottle of repellant on the tables (don't forget your feet). Definitely stop by and give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank AlanCaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    149
    42
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comlumbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Drinks ..... Left covered in bites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Sweet setting, great drinks but I sadly attract Mosquitos and thus left covered. If your not one of those people then this is perfect chill cocktail spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank togoandcomeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

After driving around the beautiful island of Isla Mujeres in our little golf cart, with friends we met at our hotel during our honeymoon, we found this Gem. We were hysterical laughing when we saw the sign "The Joint" and remembered someone from our hotel visiting the day before and said how great the food was. The music of Bob Marley was playing and we got to meet the owners dogs, Bob and Marley, lol. We parked and walked up into the coolest chillest outdoor restaurant. It was a very very hot day but the fans and trees really helped. Ruben, took care of us and was one of the friendliest, funniest servers ever! He made our experience that much better! He told us to sit wherever we liked, as the lunch rush had not started yet. The menu was pretty extensive and to be honest we were all a bit nervous about eating and drinking anything being in Mexico but the reviews are great so I ordered fish tacos and my Husband ordered hamburger. The couple we were with got Jerk Chicken and Chicken Fingers. All of our food was fresh and delicious. Our friend took advantage of one of the hammocks as well as played on the tire swing out front.It was really so much fun. We were like big kids. While we were finishing up the restaurant became quite full and everyone was enjoying their visit.We were also greeted by Penny, the owner upon her arrival. What a doll! We had a wonderful conversation about the restaurant, the island, her other businesses and her way to moving to this gorgeous island. We said our goodbyes to Penny and Ruben, and continued on our "road trip" of the island. If you are ever on Isla Mujeres, there is only one place to eat and relax, and that is The Joint. We truly hope to visit this restaurant and island again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommysGirl62913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Happening Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

A short trip around the island and there it is. Set in the jungle Regaee blasting the whole scene is very Jamaican like. Even the staf are perfect for the place. Drinks are muy bueno and flowing freely. Adrian and Lalo you are da man. Penny is the perfect hostess always seeing to the needs of the guests and also the staff.It is becoming a must do on the island so grab a golf cart and rock.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aglama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
265 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp + Reggae Music = Perfect Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

While the owners have changed in the past few years, the recipe for the coconut shrimp has not! And they have some of the best coconut shrimp I've ever had. We are also big fans of the fish tempura tacos, their famous frozen mojitos and the micheladas. The new owner, Penny, is incredibly bubbly and sweet - and great at remembering names! When my dad & his wife visited with us for their anniversary, she came over and chatted and gave us a round of frozen habenero tequila shots on the house, which of course we all loved!

One of the only things we don't like about Isla Mujeres is that downtown can be a bit hectic during high season and the bars will blast Top 40 hits. But on Punta Sur & at The Joint, reggae music is the norm, making for some easy listening. Some days they even have live reggae music! We're big fans and will definitely be coming back with our friends in January.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosiesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamanIslandGirl, Owner at The Joint, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was great to have you and your family with us! I hope when you return we will be open a few evenings for dinner too! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing