We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, authentic, simple”
Review of Poc Chuc

Poc Chuc
Ranked #36 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty, authentic, simple”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

There are actually two Poc Chuc restaurants across from each other with the same menu, but we like the one that is mid block on the west side of Juarez better. We've had several meals there over the years and enjoyed each one. The Poc Chuc itself (roast pork) was good but I liked other things on the menu even more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    104
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

So authentic and amazing!!! If you are looking for something off the beaten path, but still in town and a short walk, you must try this place!!! The lady who runs it is so very sweet and the food is as good as you will get anywhere especially if you love authentic mexican!!! Oh, and it's crazy inexpensive. We go every time (a couple of times each visit) we visit Isle Mujeres.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friends and I specifically returned here, after a great first visit two years ago. It was as friendly and authentic as before, and we really enjoyed our food. I hope that, just because they've been "discovered," they don't change what obviously works....just being their authentic selves. I love Poc Chuk!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We ate here twice for breakfast and once for supper. The food was authentic Mexican and tasty. The prices are reasonable and a bargain in a restaurant environment where most are overpriced. On our last day we asked if they could have some sandwiches prepared for 3:30 to take on the plane. They had them ready for us and they were delicious. Don't miss this gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to get authentic Mexican food at a reasonable price. Staff and owners are attentive to your needs and want to ensure you are pleased with service.

Banos could be improved upon - toilet seat would be a wonderful addition!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank universitymom081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poc Chuc also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Poc Chuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing