We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Arlene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Arlene Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wouldnt recommend to stay at this hotel. the staff was not wellcoming and not helpfull, just wasnt nice... the room was ok and clean but it wasnt woorth it . in my expriance i wouldnt come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
21
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had a blast on my trip with Living Social and the hotel was nice and everyone was very accomodating. I would definitely reccommend to others. It was in a convenient location and easy access to the beach. It is a small hotel which wasn't a bad thing because it was easy to get used to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Francis Arlene for an extended weekend. The small hotel is very close to the North beach (5 minutes to walk) and on a parallel street to the main one with all its restaurants, shops and bars. Apart from a party nearby on Saturday it seems to be usually a very quite place. Staff is very friendly and rooms very clean. We had a room with ventilator and balcony on the peaceful inner courtyard. Value for money was excellent. From the Ultramar ferry you walk to 5 - 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows, room 14 has and a nice balcony on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chilango2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speonk NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days there this May. The hotel is near everything but on a quiet avenue, owners are friendly and make you feel like one of the family. They keep the place spotless. My only issue was the air conditioner was noisy. Isla Mujeres is a special place to kick back and slow down. Play Norte is beautiful! Specially enjoyed a bucket of beer watching the sun set at the Sunset grill on Playa Norte.

Room Tip: check the air conditioner for excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank artful99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

... the place I'll return next time I visit Isla Mujeres. Staff is wonderful,multi-lingual, including English, good for me, since yo habla Espanol muy poquito. The Francis Arlene, on Guerrero, is in the middle of everything, yet far from the night noises just a few blocks away. We had a beautiful patio, good for sitting, reading and relaxing. One room, two doubles, all we needed. Fridge and a fan (sometimes a little too noisy for me). Reasonable prices and don't miss the mani-pedi place across the street. Tell Nelly we sent you. Also, the golf-cart rental just north of the hotel is trustworthy and helpful. And the wonderful breakfast just up on the corner :-) AND you won't want to miss Miguel's, down on Hidalgo. We loved our hot pink cart that we used for a one-day tour of the long island. Otherwise, walking everywhere is completely do-able. Forget that high end hotel - get yourself a piece of life on the island and see some real life.

Room Tip: if you're not a smoker, let them know when you reserve. We were on the third floor; seems like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just returned from a 3 week stay at the Francis Arlene hotel. The owners, Geraldo and Manuela do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel has an inner courtyard with a lovely garden and it is quiet and peaceful. Nice little balconies and many rooms have views of the water. The cleaning staff work hard to keep things spotless. While we were there the building behind was being torn down which meant lots of dust so the staff and Manuela were cleaning sometimes twice a day to keep up. There are many people who stay at the Francis Arlene year after year and I can see why. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nannyannie2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just stayed two weeks at the Francis Arlene, a very friendly hotel the owners Gerry & Manuela are wonderful people, it was a pleasure to get to know them and I hope we return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#18 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#30 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Arlene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Arlene Hotel

Property: Francis Arlene Hotel
Address: Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Francis Arlene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Francis Arlene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francis Arlene
Francis Arlene Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing