We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel. Beautiful plants everywhere, lots of views, quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Francis Arlene Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the sort of hotel in short supply on Isla these days. Personal, pretty, unpretentious.
The owner is a gracious man, very pleasant and helpful.
This is a sweet place. Yes, the room decor is outdated but the cleanliness and views of the water and village make up for the tired, drab bedspreads!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank greenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Francis Arlene for five nights while visiting Isla Mujeres in mid August, and it was an absolutely relaxing stay. At $50 US a night for a clean room with an A/C and a balcony view of the downtown area, it was a great deal. The owner was helpful and friendly. The hotel has a security guard that arrives at his post at 10pm, so I always felt safe. Also, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel, which made it extremely convenient for parking the golf carts and scooters that we rented while on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JD1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We travelled to Isla with my brother & sister in law. The owners & their staff/family were wonderful!!!!!!! I highly recommend a relaxing stay here! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda Biggs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I moved to the Francis Arlene after 2 disastrous weeks at El Caracol. My new room was bright, sunny, with a balcony and view of the beach. What more could you ask for? Everyone (staff and other guests) were friendly and helpful. Most of the guests were repeat visitors and knew the Island and where to go. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

the place and staff are pleasant but burdened by cheap management which makes the hotel undesirable. spotty maid service, no TV, air conditioning in only some rooms, smelly toilets, no beach towels. IF YOU BOOK HERE DO IT BY THE NIGHT BECAUSE THEY REQUIRE FULL PAYMENT FOR THE WHOLE STAY AND WILL NOT ALLOW YOU LEAVE FOR ANOTHER HOTEL WITHOUT FULL FORFEITURE. there are several nicer hotels in the area at less price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Our family of 5 (three teenagers) made a spur-of-the moment decision to stay on Isla Mujeres for our final night in Mexico, and a friend suggested we might find accomodations at the Francis Arlene. Virginia at the front desk greeted us, and within minutes we were changing in to our suits and headed for the beach. She had a triple available for the teens, and my husband and I had a king room. She actually gave me a discounte on the posted prices without my even asking. The rooms are super clean -- some have air condition and television -- and some don't. You might also ask for a room on the main floor if you're someone who can't or doesn't want to climb stairs. Because it's owned by a local Mexican couple, the amenities are typical of that country -- you won't find face cloths, hand towels, shampoo, etc. You should plan on bringing your own products, beach towel, blower dryer, etc. The fellow who owns the hotel is a member of one of the founding families of the island, has been mayor of the island, lived in the US at a young age, and is extremely interesting to talk with once you get to know him. This hotel is a short walk to Playa Norte and a block away from the walking path that runs along the rocky shore and open sea. We walked 2 blocks down the street to the local market in the morning, where we purchased fresh-squeezed fruit juices and great sopes, huaraches and panuchos for very little. The Hotel is an easy stroll from the ferry pier. You can haul your own luggage or snag one of the guys with the triciclos and he'll take your bags right to the hotel. We plan to return to the Francis Arlene later this year and will reserve one of the rooms with kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank islacoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The location is fine - the best beach on the island is only a few minutes walk away and the restaurants and bars are about two blocks from the property. The room we had was not expensive, we paid $255 for three nights - we had a/c and a little fridge, cable tv and wi-fi, although the wi-fi was not very strong and took ages to get any data downloaded. It was just after traveling extensively around the Yucatan Pennisula this was the least appealing place I stayed at.

Some of the little things that could be easily improved on were: the linens were very old, there was no bed protector, the towels (only two bath towels, no hand or face towels) were also stained and ripped, there was two cheap bars of facial soap and no other toiletries, and the room, although surface clean was covered in dust on the doors and walls. The staff seemed nice but I'll try somewhere else on next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSISonoma_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#23 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Arlene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Arlene Hotel

Address: Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $72 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Francis Arlene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Francis Arlene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francis Arlene
Francis Arlene Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing