We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel D'Gomar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel D'Gomar
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent a week here at the end of Dec. Our second night there it poured rain all afternoon and into the night. I thought, according to the one review, I might need a snorkel set by morning. We woke up to a completely dry room. NO water whatsoever. We were also in a corner room.

The view is great, and it is so easy to find, simply walk off the ferry and across the street. Frank is the best. He gave us numerous suggestions about restaurants and things to do. Places that were out of the way that we never would have found on our own. Definitely a great place to stay.

Gracious Frank

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Farmer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place reminds me of my grandfather's house in PR, clean and quaint. It's not very luxurious but if you have ever spent any significant amount of time in the islands you will feel right at home. The AC is cool and the water is hot. All of the rooms on the corners (_04) have TV's and fridges.
The location is good if you want to experience a bit more than just the beach.
It's right across the street from the ferry and around the corner from the town square where you can find all of the local food carts for lunch /dinner, or get a few things from the grocery store. The closest beach is a 3 minute walk away and Playa Norte 10 minutes. We stopped each morning to get empanisadas from the stand two streets down on our way to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlsmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel D'Gomar! The entire hotel was kept immaculate! We sat on our cute little balcony and watched the ferries coming and going, watched the street light up at night. It rained but we never had a problem with water in our room. Most of the time we left the windows open and enjoyed the breeze, without worrying about bugs! If it got too hot, the AC worked perfectly. Around the corner we enjoyed wonderful inexpensive massages, nearby to many restaurants with nice views and great food. We had access to a little kitchen area with coffee, microwave and purified water! We cant wait to return to Isla and stay at the Hotel D'Gomar!

Room Tip: We had the second (third) floor corner room with a great view and nice private balcony area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunneeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

read many reviews and the price seemed good. well rooms are really dark and dated for sure. had a rain storm on 05/01/2013 at night and our front corner room on the second floor got flooded. everything on the floor was wet. door latch was about to fall off and not secure at all. we had booked two nights and only stayed one. got the money back for the second night and went to another hotel that we stayed at before. we would have moved if they did not even give us the money back. my wife hated this place. all she could think of was that someone may break in the room . and bed bugs crossed her mind also. we had a king bed and it was ok. but i would spend a few more dollars for a much better place . trust me on this one. i have travel to many places in mexico and this one is on the bottom of places to stay

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nc-1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heredia, Gerente at Hotel D'Gomar, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It’s unlikely that someone might break into one of our rooms since we have a night clerk checking the areas constantly at night. He stays at the main entrance much of the time and besides the island is very safe.
The main door of the rooms is strong enough so, there is no way that it falls down just for a windy rain.
That room (104) was very clean and the bed does have a new mattress. There was little water running under the door (the storm was at midnight for 2 hours) but next morning the maid came in to the room and cleaned it very well.
The room is not dark since it has 2 big windows one facing to the ocean front balcony and the other to the hall on the main coffee area (room 104 has many frequent guest ask for that room.)
The hotel was build in 1988 and was renovated in 2006 after the hurricane” Wilma” and still looks pretty good.
They did receive a $10.00 a night discount when they checked in.
That morning I did apology to them after I heard their complaints and they let me know that they were going to check out and find a different hotel. I immediately returned their money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Puerto Morelos, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My three sisters and I stayed at the Hotel D'Gomar in March 2013. It appears to be a somewhat older hotel but don't be taken aback by that. The "sitting room" on the main floor is huge with very comfy chairs and couches to relax on.Gorgeous hand-carved wooden benches greet you at the door. Free wifi is, of course, standard.We were very pleasantly surprised with the whole place. We were just on a two day excursion to Isla Mujeres so didn't need any "resort" type of lodging. We loved it there!! It is right across the street from the ferry terminal and also right across the street from the beautiful beach.You will see it as soon as you are off the ferry and on to the street.Each double room had two double beds, air conditiong that worked very well, t.v., bar fridge, full tiled bathroom with a shower that had all the pressure and hot water you could ask for.......and the whole place was clean, clean, clean!!! Outside our room was a water cooler with all you can drink fresh,bottled water - free.There is an open but covered community terrace/balcony on the second floor, that looks out on to the street and the ocean. Gorgeous view and a cool breeze at all times.The terrace has several tables and chairs to just sit and relax in with free coffee all day/night long. The staff is beyond amazing and so helpful.Frank, the manager, is a terrific guy and he is there to help you with your every need. Great guy! We loved him!! The rates per night were extremely competitive.....well...to tell the truth....we were shocked at how inexpensive it was!!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, quiet and inexpensive place to stay with the utmost in friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Right across the street from the Ferry landing, cute old hotel with many rooms overlooking the harbor. Pretty busy street with associated hubbub. Basic clean rooms have communal patio gathering spots on each floor. D'Gomar also owns the golf car rental place next door and offers a discount if you bring in the on line coupon. Easy walk to cafes and shopping. Nothing to soothe your soul, but a reasonable value and comfortable enough. I'd rate it GOOD, but that's not a choice.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel have the best views and probably the best sea breeze. They'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I haven't always stayed at the Gomar but more than the others. It's a very good budget hotel. I'm writing another review because I saw a nice improvement this trip. The air conditioning unit was replaced in our room with one that had the condenser unit outside on the deck. This made it nice and quite in the room. The ocean view from the room and deck and good location for the money make it a bargain. We had a king bed with a very cold refrigerator. The staff at the Gomar has been with the hotel for many years and can be very helpful. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations and or needed services. They are building a new ferry port across the street which is going to make a nice improvement to the island. They make some noise weekdays. The higher floors at the Gomar are less noisy. We used the 2nd floor terrace to make some hot dogs for lunch to save on food cost. I see many good things happening on this island. That wasn't the case last year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#17 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#28 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Gomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Gomar

Property: Hotel D'Gomar
Address: Rueda Medina 150, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel D'Gomar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms with double beds and king size. Some facing the bay of Isla Mujeres, outdoor terrazzo and free early coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel D'Gomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Gomar
d Gomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing