We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip!”
Review of Maria's Kan-kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maria's Kan-kin
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I were quite ill with a bronchial thing, and almost cancelled our trip. From Oregon, it took 12 hours and two transfers to get to Cancun, then a shuttle, a ferry and a taxi to Maria's Kan-kin. Totally exhausted, when the taxi turned down a narrow rutted alley at midnight and the building was lit only with a dim bulb, my heart sank. "Oh, my God...what have I gotten us into?"

Luckily, Augustina was waiting for us and hurried to help. When she opened our room, I was so relieved to find just what I wanted....a simple local hotel with easy access to its own beach and pool. The next morning restored our spirits and belief in Trip Advisor's reviews. The garden area was full of flowering plants, breakfast was available in the small open air café, and the pool and beach were immaculate and beautiful.

Augustina, wife of Chef Sebastian, was a volunteer concierge for us, but also helpful were the owners, Therese and her husband, and "Lady" the room maid, the friendly gardener/helper, and the café staff. Everyone bent over backwards to be sure we were comfortable. We rested and healed in the sultry sun and the wonderful ocean. We had dinner there three times, and the reviews of Sebastian's cooking were exactly right....top quality gourmet. We referred other tourists we met there, and they were all enthusiastic.

Renting a golf cart was easy with Augustina's help, and turned out to be a blast. The one highway around the island was like a giant bumper car track full of carts, taxis and scooters. We enjoyed many sites and ate in many places, never to a bad meal. The food is wonderful and the water is drinkable, the people friendly and welcoming. Good spots to eat? First, Maria's, then Jax, Roosters, roadside tacquirias, Mango Café, Oscars, and everywhere we went.

I recommend the turtle sanctuary as a place to enjoy and support. We didn't go to the dolphin place, but others told us you could pay one fee, eat and drink all day, and enjoy the show to boot. We went to Mass at one of the local churches, with a glass view of the sea and beautiful children's voices.

I was surprised by how busy the island is, especially with day trippers from Cancun coming on the ferry, but our end towards the south end was very quiet and peaceful. Our room was humble, but very clean and had everything we wanted. Bed was plenty firm and "Lady" kept us supplied with fresh linens daily, including beach towels. There were two kayaks to use, and the pool was a small refreshing infinity pool with reclining lounges built in.

My husband took along a break-down trout pole, but although he had plenty of bites, the fish bit his line off every time!. This amused our host and the gardener no end. Bill spent a few bucks on new heavier line and gear, to no avail. Our host brought him out a heavier pole, that from it's appearance and the sand in the reel, may have washed ashore at some time, but the same result. Barracuda are a bit tough to catch, but the snorkeling around the dock was great.

The last night we were there, a Cuban group came and played music all dinner time, making a special memory. Plan on a Wednesday night to enjoy it. All in all, we had a great vacation, relaxing and healing and are looking forward to returning to Maria's.

Room Tip: Rooms are garden view for the most part, except for one ocean view. We had a deck out front, chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrammaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights in Jan. We had not been to Isla Mujeres before and wanted to stay in a smaller, quitere place so we chose Maria's. We did arrive in the evening and it would have been nice to receive a welcome drink. After 8 hours of travelling we just wanted something simple to eat and they did manage to do some soup for us which was really nice. The staff are very friendly here and the meals we did have were very, very good. We booked the "honeymoon room" which was on an upper floor with a patio and lovely view of the ocean. The bed was comfy, but the room could use some new furniture and paint. (Let me say this was not a big deal to us but I wanted to be honest). Unfortunately we were in for 3 days of steady rain but still managed to see the island by renting a golf cart. You would need to have a golf cart here to get anywhere or take taxis, there is another hotel up the road which we did go to for a couple meals as well, but other than that you are fairly remote. Their lovely little beach is sweet and we did enjoy it for an afternoon before all the rain. I think with some upgrades it will be a little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaJGimli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

one of the best vacation ever,, look at the pics at the beach and it is you have fews steps of your room,,,,for me the beach is the most important,,,,it was just amazing,.... what I would like to add was the people,,,, Sebastian, best cook in the Island,,,I ate his fish couple of times.. I was lucky I was in the hotel in time his dad from argentina was visiting him,, and he was a profesional Fisherman,,,so it was interesting to watch how the fishing has to be done in the Carrebean...:) Agostine, Senora Lady and El Senor,,, all great people ready to talk anytime ...... and the "muello".... i was unfortunatly on solo trip...coz this is really a romatic place to wtach the sunset over cancun

the great thing is that the most easternmost point of mexico is just in a walking distance with Temple park...

as well, there s new jamaican bar close to the hotel and they serve very good juices...

I am thinking of some minuses,,,but,, i just had a good time...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is too expensive for what you get. The view from this hotel is defiantly worth seeing but I would recommend going for the day rather than staying here. The food at the restaurant is really nice and the staff Sebastian and Augustine were friendly. If you eat at the restaurant you can use the private beach, the sun loungers and the pool as if you were staying there. This said we would not recommend staying here. There was one price advertised on the website which was different from that on the booking site. We sent an email when booking and we were advised that we would be charged the cheaper rate as advertised. When we arrived we were told we had to pay the more expensive price, which was A LOT more than what we had agreed. The place is located a long way from town and it is difficult to get transportation if you want to explore the rest of the Island or eat somewhere other than the hotel. Also the room although spacious, smelt mouldy and there was no hot water. We wouldn't have minded all this if we were given the room for the original agreed price. You can get MUCH cheaper places with hot water and views that are just as nice, right in the town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank H_Sava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

You've heard there is crime in the area? Really? And because of that it's a bad place? Even when it's not IN the hotel area? Come on.

We stopped in for dinner the day we rented our golf cart. It was a wonderful little place. After dinner we went for a swim and had a little siesta on the private beach. It looked like a neat little hotel, with even some rooms separate, by themselves. The staff was very friendly and the people staying there were as well.

Yes it's down a back lane, but we felt completely at ease. We have been through China, Veitnam and now Isla Mujeres and there are more scary places in our Canadian cities at home than any of these places.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Farmer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

A perfect spot for low maintenance couples. Or even if you are solo. A private beach, palm tree huts, great drinks and hammocks await you...it's in walking distance of the south end of the island for the sunrise! Please treasure this little hideaway.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We watched the sunset while my niece played in the pool, drinking margaritas and letting our hunger build. The young couple running the restaurant are in from Argentina and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. We were wowed by the seafood appetizer plate shared amongst us and then ordered beef and red snapper that were equally delicious and carefully prepared. The chef's passion is evident in his creations. We lingered a long time and felt very much at home at Maria's. Don't be put off by the slightly unkempt road, nor the quiet hotel. Go and enjoy your private dinner spot! This is one of the special experiences to have on Isla Mujeres!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
881 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Kan-kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Kan-kin

Address: Carretera al Parque El Garrafon Km. 4.5 | Fraccionamiento Mar Turquesa,, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $137 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Kan-kin 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marias Kankin is located on Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, Mexico. The hotel is about 50 minutes from the Cancun airport. Ferry boats also shuttle back and forth from the mainland. As the sunset looms,enjoy it inits private beach & pier take it easy and rest in any of Marias Kankin's nine (9) suites. Decked in minimalist, Caribbean-inspired decor, each air-conditioned suite is furnished with a mini-bar,coffee maker and coffee , Internet access in restaurant area ,kajaks also. Marias Kankin is located on Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Maria's Kan-kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Kan-Kin Hotel Isla Mujeres
Marias Kan Kin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing