We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2004

We decided on Isla Mujueres to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Villa Rolandi was recommended to us by a friend. The price was high, but we figured it would be worth it for a 5 star. Not! The rooms are fine, not fancy. Shower was caked in lime, furnishings worn. Walls very thin, able to hear neighbors clearly. We requested a third floor room and got one, but it looked into a huge palm tree, not the gulf view we wanted. If you are going there to get away from the kids - forget it. The "private beach" is not private at all. Kids there everyday and they were in and out of the pool with sand constantly. Don't rent a skooter from them, take a $5 cab to town and pay 1/2 the price. Don't make calls from room, we didn't know there was a $3.00 access charge until we noticed an extra $45 on our bill. Breakfast was stale, only 1/2 pot of coffee, a good way to lose weight.
It probably didn't help that Hurricane Jeanne came along either. We were never notified of the recommended island evacuation. In fact, while we inquiring about it, they were checking people in. We asked if they could locate a hotel for us in Cancun. They put us in a flea bag next to a strip joint. We immediately checked out went to the airport and got the only flight out and ended up spending the night in Miami, but at least we felt safe. We never used their airport transportation and have sent multiple emails for a refund, but have not gotten a response.
In other words, DON'T GO!

4  Thank wilkerrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay at our resort.

It is with great regret that we read the comments about the issues you unfortunately experienced, and we hope you would accept our sincerest apologies for falling short of your expectations.

We do however hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our product, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Marco Soria
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2004

From the second we arrived at the Playa Linda dock to find the Cocoon (Rolandi's yacht) and its crew waiting for us, we knew this part of our vacation would be very special. We were whisked past the lines of day-trippers and our luggage was loaded quickly. In a few minutes, we were off to Isla. The trip was very fast, and once we arrived at the private dock at Villa Rolandi, a hostess was waiting to escort us. The bags were handled without us having to lift a finger -- they arrived in our room a few minutes after we did. We were asked to sit in the lobby (beautiful open air with stained glass windows overlooking the pool and the Bay). They brought us cool, freshly scented towels and mimosas to enjoy while our hostess reviewed the property. The basic message here is that they are willing to do anything to help you enjoy your stay. If the hotel doesn't offer something you want, they will arrange it for you. We were given a quick tour and taken to our room where the hostess showed us how to work the full size private hot tub, satellite TV, and steam shower. The room was fantastic -- beautiful view and a very private terrace area provided an oasis when we weren't out exploring. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely, soft, white sand. There are plenty of chairs, and it often feels as if you are the only guest at the hotel. Service at the beach and pool is top notch. We never wanted for towels or drinks while we were lounging. The infinity pool is fantastic! Cool and refreshing -- a great way to cool down from the Caribbean sun. The food and service at the restaurant are amazing! I could hardly believe that a 3 course meal per day is included in the rate. The lobster, tuna carpaccio, and banannas flambe (for 2) were our favorites, but it's nearly impossilbe to order something that doesn't taste great. While you're on the island, check out the downtown area for some local flare. The food was great everywhere we went. Prices were affordable, and it was obviuos that the locals really appreciate you visiting their island and supporting the tourism industry. The Royal Dolphin Swim at Dolphin Discovery is a must (get there early bc you also get to swim with rays and sharks!) Skip snorkelling at Garrafon -- hire a boat instead to take you out to Manchones. We dove this reef 4 times, and it would be a great snorkeling spot. Speaking of diving, Coral Divers will pick you up right from the restaurant dock at Villa Rolandi -- a nice addition to a morning dive since you get to leave at 9am instead of 8am when everyone meets at the dive shop. All in all, our stay at Villa was nearly perfect -- if you are considering a visit to this hotel, do yourself a favor -- book it right now!!!

5  Thank skayfisher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can know about our distinguished guest's experiences as well as to have the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
13
Reviewed November 1, 2004

If I could give more than 5 stars I would. This hotel is really a gem and I honestly believe that despite the beauty of the setting, the amazing food, the perfect rooms, the relaxing pool, and private beach, it is the staff that really make this hotel shine. Giancarlo (hotel manager) has done an excellent job of training the staff as well as making them feel comfortable. An excellent wine, a fresh pool/beach towel, a refreshing plate of Ceviche are all but a glance away. The guys actually seem pleased to be there and are helpful without being intrusive. My wife and I where looking for an escape from the kids for a week and opted to laze by the pool and eat far too much (easy to do as the menu is quite extensive with a superb wine list). It is also worth note that the hotel has a very European feel to it which was quite a surprise in the very Mexican setting. When we left we where sad to go and not just for the rest and tranquility we found, but for the fact that we felt as if we where leaving family. We'll be back very soon. Thank you Sig. Frigerio and Sig. Rolandi and all the guys (Jesus, Alberto, Pablo, Ariel, Hilario, I cant remember everyone right now).

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can know about our distinguished guest's experiences as well as to have the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans, LA
12
Reviewed August 24, 2004

The Villa Rolandi is a beautiful small resort that is well maintained with an excellent staff and gourmet dining room. We were there with our younger adult children August 14-18. The hotel Catamaran was dockside in Cancun to take us to Isla and the ride was even better with Coronas bought at the bar/grocery adjacent to the dock. We were met at the Villa Rolandi dock by Julietta who welcomed us in the lobby with mimosas and a cool towel to freshen up. Our two adjacent rooms on the top (3rd floor with the best view) were well appointed with all the comforts including marble bathrooms and steam showers. We used the hot tub one evening (not a frequent user of these) but the view across the water to Cancun at night was outstanding. The beach is small, well kept and the service on the beach and around the pool works to an A++ rating due to Pablo. He is excellent and wants to make your stay enjoyable and is always there when you need margaritas or Coronas. (We definitely missed him on his day off when he went to Cancun to Sam's Club!) The infinity pool with cobalt blue tile is large and comfortable with shallow wet decks for sunbathing or drinks. The dining room does serve some of the best food in the area and they are to be commended! Beef carpaccio, whole grilled fish and the lobsters were some of our favorites. Wine list is very good and we enjoyed some of the Mexican wines from Baja California. We rented a golf cart for the entire stay and it was fun traveling around the small island. A morning snorkeling trip was arranged by the resort. We went into town a few times--drinks at the Na Balm on the beach but we found dining in town rather poor (we were spoiled by the Villa Rolandi cuisine) and the shopping on Hildago Street was monotonous after you see one shop. Overall this is one of the nicest resorts in the area (if you don't want the Cancun scene). It is quiet, beautiful and the staff know how to take care of their guests and we enjoyed every day!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can know about our distinguished guest's experiences as well as to have the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburg, Texas
13
Reviewed August 12, 2004

The good, the bad and Triple P (Perverted piano player)... On a bad note, what is up with those two-way mirrors next to the bed? DANG! No matter how low you set your thermostat, the room will stay warm. I hope you are not with your spouse in the jacuzzi after 10:30 in the evening, because they automatically turn off at that time. They won't come back on until 10 in the morning... We learned this the hard way. I also hope you don't want to shower with your special someone in that fabulous "shower for 2" because only one side has water pressure. They forgot our breakfast the first morning and there were only 4 or 5 rooms occupied. That was no big deal though.
Now for the good, This place is nestled in a hidden away area of Isla Mujeres called Soc Bajo. The resort is small with only 20 rooms and all rooms seemed to have super views. The 4 first floor rooms open right out to the pool, so there might be a privacy issue there for some, but we would not have minded it. We stayed in room 305 and it was awesome. The bed linens were pretty and the room was situated nicely. The steam in the shower was a nice amenity. The pool was FABULOUS FABULOUS FABULOUS WITH A VIEW BETTER THAN A DREAM! If this resort was full, it might have been different, but we really enjoyed the privacy in the pool and on the private beach as there was nobody there but us most of the time. Stephani at the front desk was wonderfully helpful to us and very kind. The other people at the front desk were not as "service" oriented. The manager was there watching over everything and he was a super nice guy also. Be aware that they open the beach to anyone who wants to use it daily and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, so there are kids around at times. They moniter the pool area and have a strict policy prohibiting kids from entering the pool. We saw a group of kids get into the pool and within 2 minutes the waiters were escorting them back down to the private beach area. The restaraunt had very good food, but the service was VERY SLOW. They set up the most romantic dinner on the beach with tiki torches and a heart made out of flower petals in the sand. That was really nice. There was a couple that was married on the beach there also and that was just beautifully orchestrated! The Resort gets top rating from us because on this little Island there are few that compare.. We recommend that you rent a golf cart or a moped for atleast a day of your stay to do a "self tour" of this fantastic little paradise. OH YES, I almost forgot triple "P" We did notice that the piano player seemed to especially like women. We stayed away, so I cannot officially comment on his perverted reputation, but I do believe he gives off that aura. If we don't rent a house and take the kids, we will surely be back to Villa Rolandi!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can know about our distinguished guest's experiences as well as to have the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
412
Reviewed July 29, 2004

Facilities are nice, room is OK (not fancy but OK), pool's beautiful, beach is private, service is excellent, food is great (try the Gourmet Pizza & the jumbo shrimp). There are just two bad things, when we got there the concierge was very kind everything was ok, but when we left.. there was another concierge (name's Orlando) I dont know if he was in a bad mood or what but he was walking around with faces, the lady on the counter was a little unfriendly too, but when I told her to be a little more polite she changed (i think they both had a bad day). Anyway if it wasnt for these two, my experience would have been great. The other bad thing (which isn't that bad) is that you have nothing near by (just a crappy restaurant in playa tiburon, and a lounge from the Villa Vera) so be sure to get a Moped or a Golf Cart if you want to move around. On the other hand the good thing is the service from staff like Ponce, Jesus, Pablo, cleaning ladies and the first concierge (I didnt get his name)

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through TripAdvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can be aware of our distinguished guest’s experiences, and it gives us the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Marco Soria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2004

My daughter and I just returned from a visit to the Villa Rolandi and I just loved everything about it! The rooms are even better than they look on the website, the beds are very comfortable, and I especially loved the comfy slippers they give you! The bathrooms are to die for -- marble everywhere and a state of the art shower with multiple shower heads. The toiletries are top notch as well. I was really surprised at how first class everything was.

The secret door for breakfast is so charming and ingenious. I agree with others that the breakfast offering gets a bit monotonous after awhile, but I would just order my extras the night before and they were always delivered perfectly the next morning. Coffee was incredible! I also really appreciated the fact that you get a big bottle of water every morning with your breakfast. It was great because it lasted us until dinner time and we didn't have to buy expensive bottles of water the way we usually do at Caribbean resorts.

Service was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Everyone was eager to please, friendly, and so polite and sweet. The waiters at the pool, Pablo and Ariel were so nice, especially to my daughter. They learned she liked non sparkling lemonade and their special thin french fries and they had them ready for her every day! The pool is the real gem of this resort. We would sit there for HOURS staring out at it and swimming in it. I don't know what makes this pool so incredible, but you never get tired of sitting there! It has an infinity edge, has a ledge running all the way round, and is tiled with royal blue mini tiles. Then, you can see the sand and sea beyond it. The chairs are beautiful and sturdy, not the plastic stuff... and they're topped with plush terry pillows. I never wanted to leave. The beach is small, but the sand is powder white and the water is clear and placid, and there are thatched huts and chairs there. Also, it's pretty much empty so we had to ourselves most of the time.

The food was great, and the restaurant is very romantic.

I was a little perturbed about going to the hotel after reading some of the reviews below, but we had the best time and loved everything about it. I can't wait to go back.

5  Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Soria, General Manager at Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor. We value our guests’ feedback because this is the way we can know about our distinguished guest's experiences as well as to have the opportunity to improve our service.

We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.9 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
2 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $460 - $1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing