We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel. slightly inconvenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week here, recently, and really liked the place. I can see why it's called the best or nicest hotel on the island. Really the only down side is the location -- which can be a plus, if you don't want to be around the other action centers on the island.

The island is small, so if you get tired of eating north italian cuisine at the hotel restaurant (it is quite good, but has limited vegetarian options, you can head in to town for 80 pesos by taxi, and get there is about 15 mins.

The beach is nice, exclusive to the hotel, and the pools are quality. Service is friendly and satisfactory throughout.

A few things to be aware of: renting anything via the hotel entails the usual "premium" of such places, but it's a bit more than you might think, eg, 30% adder to rent a golf cart for 24 hours from the hotel, versus any of the places in town. Heck for $75USD plus the 11% hotel charge, you can almost rent a golf cart for twice as long from a place in town. And of course, since a taxi ride between the two most distant points on the island is just 100 pesos or less, you an do 8 taxi rides per day for cheaper than renting a golf car at the hotel, including tips.

They DO have a nice water taxi yacht to take you to and from the mainland, but it's not always functional. We reserved space to and from the airport via their handy transfers service... but on the check out day, the yacht was not working, so they sent us in a taxi to the public ferry, which was a little disconcerting -- they covered the cost, but of course it's cheaper that the private service, there is less help with your luggage, etc.

Breakfasts are included and were consistently good -- and they were able and willing to make small modifications (regular toast instead of french toast, cappucino instead of coffee, etc) without much fuss. Exchange rates, if you have US dollars cash, at the hotel are competitive, which was refreshing, but if you need an ATM, you have to go down the street to the dolphin prison, with a special pass from the hotel. Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of if you happen to be in a hurry.

We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
There are newer reviews for Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Rolandi for five nights. We have planned to stay only for 3 nights but decided to extend our stay for additional two nights since we've got in love with the place. Its a small luxury hotel with a beautiful private beach. We also loved the pool wich was only few meters from the ocean surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. Very romantic! The hotel is very quite, mostly couples. The only negative was the restaurant. Though located on a balcony with breathtaking view , we found it overpriced. The hotel is located relatively far from the downtown where most of the restaurants and bars are located, so you can enjoy a quite atmosphere and privacy. We have rented a golf cart for 3 days and used it both during the day time exploring the island and also in the evening to drive to the center. The service at the hotel was great. The room, Junior suite was big and spacious with the most comfortable bed ! It had a beautiful ocean view and a jacuzzi at the balcony. Beautiful hotel, good service, great place for a romantic vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you want sun, tranquility, a caring staff and fabulous food that's all you'll get at this 35 room hotel. Your home away from home. Intimate and sophisticated. Suite was spacious and comfortable.Bring a power strip for all your devices. The view from your suite is of the turquoise ocean and Cancun a thankful 40 minutes away by boat. I don't like to go back to a place twice but this place is an exception. Will definitely return and next time I will swim with the whale sharks and visit Contoy. You can rent golf carts. We did not preferring to an A/C taxi to the Mayan temple ruin at Punt Sur and see Punte Norte.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank litphyl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our second visit to Villa Rolandi was even better than the first! It is truly an oasis of tranquility. The hotel is spotless. The staff is always eager to please with a smile! Our suite was bright, airy and very spacious. Comfortable beds, state of the art showers and private jacuzzi on the balcony, all add to your relaxation. The food was always amazing. The best Eggs Benny you will ever taste! and they made them gluten-free for me to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Drip coffee is included in your breakfast, but if you order cappuccino or latte, they charge extra :(
A trip to Contoy, the island of the birds, is a must! the hotel has arranged private and unforgettable tour for us. Thank you all for giving us wonderful memories.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magdalena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our third visit to the Villa Rolandi this year and we can't wait to return over the Christmas and New Year Holiday. The reason? Service, friends and the food! The staff is so kind and helpful they make your stay on the Island so comfortforable and relaxing you never want to go home. As we cross the bay on the beautiful Cocoon all of our worries fall into that deep blue water, Tito, you are the best! The staff @ the desk do anything to get you what you want, golf cart, whale shark tour, diving, money exchange just ask and they set you up with the best on the Island. Any room is perfect, we have stayed @ all levels, but prefer the ground as I am an early riser & like to go to the kitchen first thing before breakfast for a pot of coffee, no problem. Breakfast is include, really too much food, always have to diet upon return. After all these years this was the first time we had a Rolandi pizza @ the pool for lunch which was excellent, Ariel continues to do a great job keeping everyone well fed and hydrated. Francesco scrubs the pools daily by hand, I wish I could take him home to my garden! The Cozy is updated, the wine list improved, I had some very nice Rose for under $25 a bottle.Hilario makes great mixed drinks & is very knowledgeable about fine Tequilas. The dinners are always 3 course, delicious. The soups are a favorite. The wait staff is the best, lead by Geraldo,& Jesus they are professional and yet friendly.The mangement staff behind the scene are always looking for ways to improve, that is why Villa Rolandi will always be Mi Casa in Mexico. It is my honor to be this beautiful resorts 400th reviewer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tschbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This journey started with a reservation on Expedia. I followed that up with an email to the hotel with some questions and received an almost immediate reply from Victor Garcia. He is mentioned favorably in most of the tripadvisor reviews for Villa Rolandi and deserves every accolade. Our visit was for a honeymoon and with Victor's help it was so very special. He set up transportation from the airport to the dock where the hotel's private yacht, Cocoon, would be waiting to transport us to Isla. Victor also arranged, at my request, a private dinner on the beach for our first evening on the island. I hadn't even thought about what 'time' to have this romantic dinner but Victor had already set it up for the approximate time of that day's sunset. He was very discrete in letting me know the time also, in case I was planning to surprise my wife (... I was). It's the little things like that which make Victor special.

We boarded Cocoon and were treated like VIPs. A fun ride, sitting on the top deck with the captain, watching the craziness of Cancun fade behind us while we approached paradise. Arriving at the hotel dock we were greeted by Victor and some champagne. He escorted us into the beautiful hotel lobby while staff collected our bags from the boat. We were provided cool clothes, wet and scented with lemon, to wipe our faces (so refreshing) while Victor explained the amenities. He escorted us to our room and provided explanations of all the items contained within... lights, shower, Jacuzzi, etc. then left us. My new wife cried several times during the aforementioned events - she was so happy and felt very blessed and special due to all the attention we received.

The hotel was simply amazing. The view from our balcony was breathtaking... overlooking the pool and a of Cancun in the distance. Best feature in the room - toss up between the super comfortable bed and the amazing shower (6 movable shower heads!). The Jacuzzi was nice but the jets were very weak and it is only able to be turned on between 10 AM and 10 PM. No problem because the large salt-water hot tub next to the infinity pool more than compensated. The private beach and equipment was impeccably maintained as were the grounds of the hotel and the pool area.

The restaurant was also wonderful. Open to the sea breezes... the staff had perfect timing and a great sense of humor. The quality of the food was beyond our expectations also... Salmon omelettes for breakfast anyone? Can't say enough about the staff of the restaurant (and the hotel in general). They were all warm, welcoming, humorous and friendly. In short - they made us feel welcome and appreciated the entire time.

Lastly I would like to shout out to Mary at the front desk. She was so very helpful with information, exchanging currency and advising us on our golf-cart adventure.

We will most assuredly return to the Hotel Villa Rolandi !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlejandroMadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A perfect experience. The entire staff is incredible. Super efficient, attentive, friendly (mi familia!!) knowledgable and did I say friendly?? :) Enjoy a spa treatment early upon arrival as it REALLY sets the tone for your vacation. The Mexican/Swiss/Italian presence is mixed in a very complimentary way in both food and decor. This hotel draws really interesting people and we made some new wonderful friendships!! We were there in late Aug, Early Sept and the weather was perfect and Whale Shark exerience was out of this world! Magnifico!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cappi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
6.6 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,171 reviews
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,918 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
10.0 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $472 - $1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing