We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
137
276
198
93
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
276
198
93
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle section cabana room juice and coffee included breakfast beach bar an umbrella beach chairs and umbrellas small pool hot water beautiful beach every other day the main hotel palm trees worked great two double beds golf cart laid back
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 792 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2016

I really loved how close we were to the beautiful beach...just steps. The beach bar was really fun. We got daily tickets for coffee, juice, toast in the morning. Service at the restaurant was extremely slow.

Ok, the rooms: The rooms were adequate, no frills - a place to sleep and shower. We were in "The Tower" area, first floor. We were there for six nights and got used to the room. It had a fridge and TV (TV was older). If you don't mind a basic accommodation, then this would be fine for you.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

The location was the best the small bar an restaurant close by was fun and a must visit everyday. Our room had excellent air conditioning and a very cold fridge! The grounds were kept beautiful...My only complaint was the front desk went in the office several times to check in, rent a golf cart or just to ask a question and only once was there actually a person that spoke and understood English? I do understand I was in Mexico but my bet is there is a lot more Americans staying there than there are Mexicans...

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastravelgal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

This hotel offers extremely simple accommodations and while some might find it a bit bare, is plenty clean and a great place to lay your head at the end of the day. If you're spending much time in the room while visiting, you're doing it wrong. So, this hotel is great for what it needs to be.

The beach literally steps from the hotel is one of the best I've been to. White sand, blue water, peaceful. The hotel is also about a 5-minute walk from some of the more happening areas of Isla Mujeres, so the location is tough to beat.

The included breakfast was a little weak for someone 6'4" 200lbs (pretty much just a traditional Latin American breakfast: coffee and toast), so if you have higher caloric needs in the morning, plan to either order more from the hotel kitchen or head elsewhere for breakfast.

We'd spend the day either on the beach, out snorkling, or jetting around Isla Mujeres on the moped, and just needed a good place to sleep at night. This hotel definitely fit the bill and we'd do it again.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank axdaxdaxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

This was our second time staying on the north beach, but first time at the cabanas. Of course, this is not a 5 star resort, and you're not paying for that. This is your opportunity to stay at a cultural hotel on one of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean. We go here to relax and get away from the hustle of the "every day" world and big city scenery. This place is perfect. Rooms are average in the tower, but kept clean. The beds are a little hard, but other than that it's fine. You won't be spending time in your room anyways. We weren't too impressed with Buho's and the quality of their drinks. Take a 50 yard walk to the left and check out Tarzan for the best pina coladas and coco loco. Everyone we met on either side of our rooms were friendly and quiet. The grounds are very well maintained and have a fresh tropical feel. We would definitely stay here again,but would also like to check out the other small hotels on the north beach. The whole block is a gem!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank chriszamudio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016

My partner and I have been coming to Isla Mujeres for the last 5 years and 3 out of those 5 we have stayed at Cabanas Maria Del Mar. We were just there for about 9 days. We love it there. We love the staff, we love the location, we love the rooms. The rooms are generally very clean with the exceptional spot here and there but how much time do you really spend in your room. As long as you can shower, cool off and sleep. We will be returning to this hotel when we come back to Isla.

Room tip: the castle section has the best rooms.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 136julip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews